Dr. Dennis S. O'Leary, dean of clinical affairs and professor of medicine and pathology at George Washington University Medical Center, has become president of the Medical Society of the District of Columbia.

Paul A. Yurachek and Dennis M. Gurtz have formed Dennis M. Gurtz Associates Inc., investment advisers. Yurachek was formerly tax counsel and Gurtz senior investment analyst with James C. Bly Co. Inc.

John J. Curley, editor of USA Today, has been elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Washington Journalism Center.

James J. O'Donnell, former secretary of the Maryland State Department of Transportation, has been named a vice president with Kidde Consultants Inc.

Wheeler Industries Inc. has promoted Roy G. Shults to vice president, operations and technical director; Robert H. Fillmore to vice president, administration and finance, and George J. Charles to vice president, corporate development and general counsel.

E. M. Seligmann has been appointed vice president with Airschott Inc.

Philip L. O'Donoghue has joined the law firm Furey, Doolan & Abell in Chevy Chase.

Stephan Jalon has established a land surveying practice in Rockville.

R. G. Taylor has been elected to the board of directors of SAGE Systems Inc. in Bethesda. Taylor is president and chief executive officer of Datacrown Inc. in Canada.

Steven H. Rosenfeld has joined the Washington Design Group as director of business development.