James G. Aldige III has been named "Professional of the Year" by the Direct Marketing Association of Washington. Aldige is executive vice president of a Washington direct response company, The Viguerie Co. He joined Viguerie in 1968. Aldige is also president of the Association of Direct Marketing Agencies.

Zilda Rogers Drinkard, Mark Garrett, Gary Hutchinson, Tom Mack and Fred H. Mitchell have been elected members of the executive committee of the National Capital Area Transportation Federation.

William E. Blasier has been named president of the American Diabetes Association's Washington area affiliate. Blasier is general counsel of the National Association of Manufacturers.

Stephen M. Kirchner has been named president of the National Motorcoach Marketing Network Inc., a motorcoach marketing organization. Kirchner was formerly with the American Bus Association. Arthur D. Lewis will serve as chairman of the board. Lewis is chairman of Mid-Pacific Airlines. He was formerly chairman and president of the American Bus Association.

Pamla Clark has been elected treasurer of the Air Transport Association. Clark is also director of administration.

William D. Morice has been elected president of the Baltimore/Washington chapter of the National Council of Physical Distribution Management. Morice is with Booz-Allen & Hamilton Inc.

Dr. Alan M. Weintraub has been installed as president of the American Heart Association's Washington affiliate. Weldon B. MacDonald has been reelected chairman of the board. Weintraub is a cardiologist in private practice in Chevy Chase and a clinical professor at George Washington University Hospital. MacDonald is manager of government sales of General Motors Corp.

Sara Meyerdierks Ross has been promoted to acting director of media relations of the National Association of Manufacturers. Ross succeeds Stephen M. Johnson, who has been named vice president of Gray and Co.

George F. Kain has been named president-elect of the Purchasing Management Association. Kain is with Sperry Systems in Reston.

Will F. Nicholson Jr. has been elected chairman of the Association of Bank Holding Companies. Nicholson is president of Colorado National Bankshares Inc.

The Association of Editorial Businesses has named new officers: Daniel W. Gottlieb of Gottlieb Associates in Silver Spring, president; Michael L. Hays of Editorial Consultants Inc. in McLean, vice president and president-elect; Samuel R. Blate of Samuel R. Blate Associates in Gaithersburg, secretary, and Claire Kincaid of Editorial Experts Inc. in Alexandria, treasurer.