Benjamin L. Hackerman has been appointed executive director of the Maryland Industrial Development Financing Authority, a financing agency of the state Department of Economic and Community Development. Hackerman was formerly director of DECD's Maryland Housing Fund.

Joseph G. Ripley has been promoted to director of planning and programming of the Virginia Department of Highways and Transportation. Ripley succeeds Oscar K. Mabry, who has been named deputy commissioner of the department.

Edward J. Guss has been named deputy executive director of the U.S. Savings Bonds Division of the Department of Treasury. Guss was formerly deputy assistant director and director of administration and finance of Action.

Julian B. Heron Jr. has been reelected to a second term as chairman of the U.S. Agricultural Export Development Council. Heron is a senior partner in the Washington law firm of Heron, Burchette, Ruckert & Rothwell.

Carlton Dotson has been promoted to public relations officer of the Maryland State Lottery Agency. Dotson was formerly a district manager of the agency.

Robert B. Serino has been appointed deputy chief counsel for operations of the office of the Comptroller of the Currency at the Department of Treasury. He was formerly a member of the faculty of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking.

Mark W. Everson has been named assistant director for management policy and coordination of the U.S. Information Agency.

Bruce E. Thompson Jr. has been named assistant secretary for business and consumer affairs of the Treasury Department. Thompson was formerly deputy assistant secretary for legislative affairs.

James M. Rees has been appointed a commissioner of the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority. Rees is a senior partner in the law firm of Rees, Broome and Diaz. He is a former president of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce.

Cynthia J. Dahlin has been named to the Virginia Coal and Energy Commission. Dahlin is a project manager of American Management Systems Inc. in Arlington.