Merrill Shugoll has been elected president of the metropolitan Washington chapter of the American Marketing Association. Shugoll is vice president of the Market Research Bureau Inc. in Washington.

Shugoll has been a member of the association for seven years and has served on its membership and conference committees and as president-elect.

Other board members elected include Carolee Bush, president-elect; Julie Donnelly, secretary, and Geoffrey Caldwell, treasurer.

James M. Shedden has been elected president of the Asphalt Roofing Manufacturers Association. Shedden is president of Genstar Building Materials Co.

David R. Norcross has been named president-elect of the Virginia Society for Hospital Public Relations. Norcross is director of public relations of Alexandria Hospital.

JoAnn H. Price has been named president of the American Association of Minority Enterprise Small Business Investment Companies. She was formerly vice president. Price succeeds Patricia D. Jacobs, who resigned to become president, owner and operator of Komco Inc., a Vienna micrographics company.

Suzanne Paciulli has been elected president of the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce. Paciulli is president of LCI Associates Ltd., a residential, commercial and land brokerage firm in Vienna.

Ellis Cose has been appointed president of the Institute for Journalism Education. Cose is a business reporter with USA Today.

Paul A. Barrese has been elected international president of Tax Executives Institute Inc. Barrese is director of taxes of Asarco Inc. He succeeds Sol Coffino of Castle & Cooke Inc.

Frederick E. Nunley has been named president of the Association of Maryland Community and Junior College Business Officers. Nunley is dean of administration of Howard Community College.

Bernard L. Tetreault has been elected president of the Association of Local Housing Finance Agencies. He is executive director of the Montgomery County Housing Opportunities Commission.

Barton Middleton has been elected to the board of directors of the Southern Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives. Middleton is executive vice president of the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce.

Richard D. Legon has been appointed vice president for membership and development of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges. Legon was formerly an executive assistant to the U.S. Postal Rate Commission.

Jo Anna Evans Kalber has been named manager of services of the National Steel Erectors Association Inc.

Jon L. Burleson has been appointed to the board of governors of the Virginia Savings & Loan League. Burleson is president of Liberty Savings and Loan Association in Warrenton.

Melvin R. Harris and Frank M. Zappacosta have been named national directors of the National Association of Accountants. Harris is a partner in the certified public accounting firm of Thomas Havey & Co. Zappacosta is internal audit chief of the Organization of American States.

Donald B. Shea has been named president of the United States Brewers Association. He was formerly vice president and director of USBA's alcohol programs division. Shea succeeds Henry B. King.

Houston M. Crowder Jr. has been elected president of the Bond Club of Virginia. Crowder is with Horner Barksdale & Co. A. John Lucas of Branch Cabell & Co. was named vice president.

Peter A. Briggs has been elected president of the Railroad Public Relations Association. Briggs is assistant vice president for public affairs of Burlington Northern Railroad. He succeeds Edwin E. Edel. Edel is vice president for corporate communications of CSX Corp. Robert C. Fort was named senior vice president. Fort is manager of public relations of Norfolk Southern Corp. Diane S. Liebman was reelected secretary-treasurer. Liebman is director of media services for the Association of American Railroads.

Lee R. Donais has been reelected treasurer of the National Association of Music Merchants. Donais is vice president and co-owner of Gordon Keller Music Co. in Vienna.

Raul R. Tapia has been elected to the board of trustees of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. Tapia is counsel to the Washington law firm of Kenkel and Barnard.

Nevin B. Montgomery has been appointed executive vice president of the National Frozen Food Association. Montgomery was formerly senior vice president of the association.

Calvin G. Franklin and and James J. Harford have been elected to the board of the Washington Urban League. Maj. Gen. Franklin is commanding general of the District of Columbia National Guard. Harford is president and chief operating officer of the Mid-Atlantic Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

Tobias Anthony has been named executive vice president of the National Ash Association. Anthony was formerly vice president for business development and Washington affairs of Research-Cottrell in Bedminster, N.J.

D. Bennett Wall has been elected to the board of directors of the National Mobile Radio Association. Wall is vice president of Piedmont Communications Co. Inc. in Durham, N.C.

Edwin S. Bernstein has been named president of the Federal Administrative Law Judges Conference. Bernstein is adminsitrative law judge of the U.S. Postal Service. Judge James J. O'Meara Jr. of the National Labor Relations Board was named first vice president. Judge Garvin Lee Oliver of the Federal Labor Relations Authority was named second vice president.

Gary D. Simms has been named general counsel of the American Academy of Actuaries. Simms was formerly assistant director of collective bargaining services of the Associated General Contractors of America.

Scott D. Widmeyer has been appointed director of public relations of the American Federation of Teachers. He joined AFT in 1981 as assistant director.

Diane B. Stoy has been elected president of the Capital Press Women, the Washington affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. Stoy is operations director of the Lipid Research Clinic at George Washington University Medical Center.

Robin E. Keeney has been named public relations director and legislative representative of the National Association of Small Business Investment Companies. Keeney was formerly a writer and editor with the Direct Selling Association.

John J. Mahlmann has been named executive director of the Music Educators National Conference. Mahlmann was formerly executive director and editor of the National Art Education Association.

John Siddall has been elected president of the Richmond Advertising Club. Siddall is chairman and creative director of Siddall, Matus & Coughter Inc., a Richmond and Washington advertising and public relations agency.

Frank P. Casula has been reelected to the board of directors of the National Association of Counties. Casula is chairman of the Prince George's County Council.

The Northern Virginia chapter of the National Association of Accountants has elected the following executive board members: Juliet Teoh, president, John Anderson, secretary, Lynn Sole, treasurer, and Ernie Sheppard, Mark Schalk and Marilyn Wood, vice presidents.

Nancy L. Rucker has been named a health policy analyst with the American Group Practice Association. Rucker formerly worked as a reporter with a medical newsletter, The Blue Sheet; as a research associate of Health Information Designs Inc., and as an intern with the office of senator John Glenn of Ohio.

Christopher Brandon has been elected president of the D.C. Metro chapter of the International Association for Financial Planning. He succeeds LeCount Davis.

Richard A. Strano has resigned as executive director of the National Association for Hospital Development. He has been named president of the American Osteopathic Hospital Association in Chicago.