The National Association of Manufacturers, the Washington-based association representing a large part of the nation's industrial work force, has announced the appointment of Stanley C. Pace as its 1984-85 chairman.

Pace is president and chief operating officer of TRW Inc., where he has worked since 1954.

Based in Cleveland, TRW provides high-technology products and services for the electronic, space systems, car, truck, and other industrial and energy markets.

The NAM has also elected Douglas Thomson to its board of directors. He is president of the Toy Manufacturers of America.

The NAM represents more than 13,000 member firms nationwide. The group works to promote the growth and productivity of the U.S. manufacturing sector.

The National League of Cities has named Frank Shafroth to its chief lobbying position as director of federal relations.

Shafroth, 35, has been the league's principal lobbyist for taxation and finance issues for the past three years. He has worked for the past two years lobbying for the $4.3 billion General Revenue Sharing program.

Before joining NLC, Shafroth was a counsel for the Senate subcommittee on housing and urban affairs from 1979 to 1981. He also served in several other capacities at the Senate between 1975 and 1979.

Founded in 1924, the NLC is one of the largest municipal government organizations in the country.

John R. Tydings, the executive vice president of the Greater Washington Board of Trade, has been appointed a director of the American Chamber of Commerce Executives.

Tydings joined the Board of Trade in 1968 and before becoming the board's executive vice president in 1978, he was responsible for marketing, economic development and legislative lobbying issues.

The ACCE provides personal, professional and management services to its 3,200 members across the country.

Dr. Klaus M. Zwilsky, executive director of the National Materials Advisory Board of the National Research Council, has been elected to a three-year term as a trustee for the American Society for Metals. The ASM represents 51,000 members in 88 countries serving the metals and materials sectors.

The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors, based in McLean, has elected John B. Rucker its president. Rucker is currently a credit union administrator in Kansas.

Frank Patterson, president of Patterson and Associates of Chevy Chase, has been elected to the executive committee of the Independent Insurance Agents of America.

The Consumer Bankers Association has named Joe Belew as director of government relations, effective Dec. 1. Belew will replace Drew V. Tidwell, who is leaving to go into private law practice.

The American College of Radiology has named two new members to its Washington staff. John C. Nash has been appointed public affairs officer and Clark A. Davis will join the staff as a planning analyst.

John F. Metcalfe, vice president of sales and marketing for the Fairmont Hotel Company in Washington, has been elected to serve on the board of directors for the American Society of Association Executives. ASAE has a membership of more than 11,000 association executives and suppliers across the country.

The newly formed Virginia Waste Industries Association has announced the appointment of David A. Pointon as its executive secretary.

Paul M. Rosen of Paul Rosen Graphics Ltd., of Washington, has been elected director-at-large, retailer, of the Professional Picture Framers Association, based in Richmond.