The newly formed Maryland-D.C. Solar Energy Industries Association has appointed Mary Tucker of the Montgomery County Appropriate Technology Employment Project as its executive director.

A spokesman for the solar energy association said that the group's priorities include the establishment of tax credits for the purchase of solar energy systems and the improvement of codes, licensing and financing for solar energy equipment.

The association reported that it also has elected Thomas Leyden of Maryland Energy Systems in Annapolis as its president and Peter Lowenthal of N. H. Yates and Co. in Cockeysville as vice president. TRADE

The Virginia Chamber of Commerce has named Harry L. Frazier Jr. director of small business and education. Frazier was a director of public affairs and research for the chamber between 1978 and 1981 and has been working in sales and marketing in Richmond for the past three years.

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association has appointed Gerald R. Cichy, the former director of the Montgomery County Department of Transportation, as its executive vice president. The Washington-based group represents construction contractors, government transportation officials, designers, suppliers and other transportation industry professionals.

Jed Casey, the vice president of sales and marketing at M. S. Ginn & Co. Inc. in Hyattsville, has been elected the chairman of the board of the National Association of Office Products in Alexandria.

Lester A. Hudson, the president of Dan River Inc. in Danville, has been elected the chairman of the Virginia Manufacturers Association. PROFESSIONAL

Meredith Fernstrom, senior vice president of public responsibility at American Express Co., has been elected president of the Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals in Business. SOCAP represents consumer affairs executives across the country who work to link business, government and consumer interests.