Paul T. O'Day has resigned as the Commerce Department's deputy assistant secretary for foreign operations to become president of the Man-Made Fiber Producers Association.

O'Day had been with the federal government for more than 25 years, most recently with Commerce's International Trade Administration. He succeeds Charles Carlisle, who resigned earlier this year to become a special negotiator with the rank of ambassador for the State Department's Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs.

"O'Day takes over the helm of the Man-Made Fiber Producers Association at a critical point in the history of the U.S. textile industry," said MMFPA Chairman John Gregg. "The challenges our industry faces in international trade demand the talents, expertise and broad experience that Paul O'Day will bring to our association."

O'Day served as assistant secretary of Commerce during both the Johnson and Nixon administrations. He was assistant special trade representative to President Ford, and Commerce's deputy director of domestic business development during the Carter administration. In 1983 he received the President's Meritorious Executive Award.

The MMFPA is a domestic trade organization that represents producers of more than 90 percent of the U.S. output of man-made fibers, filaments and yarns. PROFESSIONAL

Rep. John N. Erlenborn (R-Ill.) will join the American Society of Pension Actuaries in January as a special consultant to its government affairs program. Erlenborn is retiring from Congress at the end of the current term, but he will remain in Washington to practice law in the local office of the Chicago firm Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather & Geraldson. A noted specialist in the field of pension policy, he is one of the authors of ERISA, The Employe Retirement Income Security Act. As a consultant, Erlenborn will act as spokesman for ASPA before Congress and federal regulatory agencies.

The board of directors of the Consumers Bankers Association has announced it will sell its Journal of Retail Banking to Lafferty Publications Ltd. of London, effective Jan. 1. CBA will retain its affiliation with the publication, but association President Carl A. Modecki said it was in CBA's best interest to transfer the Journal to a major publisher who had expertise in retail banking. Lafferty Publications Ltd. provides consumer financial services information worldwide, and currently publishes Retail Banker International, a bi-monthly newsletter. CBA also sponsors an annual retail banking conference.

American Society of Association Executives has announced that Margo Vanover Porter has resigned as editor of Association Management, its monthly publication. Porter is joining the National Securities Dealers Association as director of communications services.

The Maryland Travel Council, an organization that promotes travel and tourism in Prince George's County, has selected J. Matthew Neitzey as the 1984 Maryland Travel Person of the Year. Neitzey is the director of the Prince George's Travel Promotion Council Inc.

Joyce E. Butler has been installed as chairwoman of the Metro Maryland Chapter of the National Association of Bank Women. Butler is human resources officer at Suburban Bank. Other officers elected were: Bobbie Hart, bank marketing manager, Automatic Data Processing Inc. of Rockville, to vice chairwoman; Wanda M. Kaiser, administrative services officer, First American Bank of Maryland, to secretary; and Pamellia G. Orosz, assistant cashier/branch manager, Central National Bank of Maryland, to treasurer.

The Maryland Society of Surveyors has selected Dietrich H. Steffens, of Stephens Co. in LaPlata, as its president for fiscal 1985. Other new officers are: Lowell L. Chapman, of Chapman's Surveying Inc., to vice president; Mackenzie L. Kelly, of Greenhorne & O'Mara in Greenbelt, to secretary; and Fredrick Y. Ward, of Fredrick Ward Associates in Bel Air, to treasurer.

The American Association of Political Consultants, a local association for political and campaign consultants, has elected its officers for the 1985-86 term. They are: Joseph R. Cerrell, president; Brad O'Leary, U.S. vice president; Gordon Ashworth, Canadian vice president; Eileen Padberg, secretary; and Ralph Murphine, treasurer.