The American Association of Entrepreneurial Dentists has chosen Dr. Robert I. Schattner as its "Dentist of the Year 1984."

Schattner invented Chloraseptic mouthwash and Sporicidin cold sterilizing solution, which is used by hospitals, dentists, and surgical supply companies to sterilize supplies and equipment. He is the second recipient of the award. The first was awarded to the late Dr. Barney Clark, who was the world's first recipient of a permanent artificial heart. PROFESSIONAL

Ralph S. Childs Jr., president and chief executive officer of Home Federal Savings and Loan Association, has been elected to a three-year term on the Executive Committee of the U.S. League of Savings Institutions.

Childs, a board member of the league for two years, is vice president and a board member of the D.C. Housing Industry Corp., president of Savings Associations Financial Enterprises and a board member of the D.C. Builders Association.

Jill H. Pace has been elected executive director of the National Association of Consumer Agency Administrators. Pace has worked as a research assistant for the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 1980.

The Association of Private Pension and Welfare Plans has appointed Stuart J. Brahs as its new executive director.

The Associated Builders and Contractors of Maryland has elected its 1985 officers: Robert Glessner, Glessner Communications, president; William Walsh, Robert L. Walsh Co. Inc., vice president; Loyal Gassman, the Gassman Corp., secretary, and Karl Barron of Engineered Construction Products Limited, treasurer.

The Landscape Contractors Association of Metropolitan Washington has installed its 1985 board of directors: Penny Rion Willocks, Rion Design/Build, president; Ray Gustin III, Gustin Gardens Inc., president-elect; David Lindoerfer, Davis Landscape Co. Inc., vice president; Bernie Mihm Jr., Fine Earth Landscape Co., secretary, and Gary Mangum, Creative Planting, treasurer.