Barbara R. Bergmann, a professor of economics at the University of Maryland, has been chosen Washington Woman Economist of the Year.

The award will be presented March 9 by the Washington Women Economists (WWE), a professional association founded in 1979 to promote the status of women economists. Bergmann is being honored for her achievement within the field of economics as well as her support of other women economists, said Arleen Lustig, chairman of the 300-member group. WWE sponsors discussions and other events on current economic issues.

Bergmann, a University of Maryland professor for 20 years, has served as a consultant to the President's Council of Economic Advisors, the Rand Corp., the Ford Foundation, and the German Marshall Fund, a nonprofit foundation established by the German government to fund grants for research on topics of interest to the United States and Europe.

Bergmann is chairman of the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession, which is a subcommittee of the American Economics Association. She has published more than 40 articles and testified before numerous congressional committees on the role of women in the economy. TRADE

The Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington Inc. has elected Milton Goldman, owner of Le Souperb Restaurant in D.C., as its president. Other newly elected officers of the 1,100-member association are: Ray Orndorff, director of Food Services for People's Drug Stores, first vice president; Richard Carter, owner of Flagship Restaurant in Washington, second vice president, and Robert Hoheisel of Bowl America, treasurer.

The National Retail Merchants Association has named Tracy Mullin as senior vice president for its Washington governmental affairs office. She succeeds Verrick O. French, who has resigned to form his own consulting firm here. Michael J. Altier also has joined NRMA as legislative counsel. He was counsel to the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Ralph M. Baruch, chairman of Viacom International Inc., a New York company that owns television and radio stations and operates cable systems worldwide, has been named chairman of the National Cable Academy's first board of governors. The National Cable Television Association established the academy on Nov. 12 to promote the Awards for Cable Excellence, which are presented to people involved in cable television production and programming.