J. Glenn Beall Jr., the former Republican senator from Maryland, has been elected chairman of the Maryland Hospital Association. MHA represents Maryland's 64 community emergency care and a few special care hospitals.

Beall, who currently heads two insurance firms, one in Cumberland, Md., and one in the District, also is president of the U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress. Beall served in the Maryland House of Delegates and the U.S. House of Representatives before his election to the Senate in 1971. He was defeated for reelection by Democrat Paul Sarbanes in 1976.

He joined the hospital association in 1979 as legislative chairman and later was elected to three terms as vice chairman. As the new chairman, Beall will preside over the group's 64 trustees and executive council.

The Lutherville-based MHA is the only state hospital association in the country with a governing body composed of the citizen volunteer trustees who serve on hospital boards. Beall is a longtime member of the lay advisory board of Sacred Heart Hospital in Cumberland.

Other newly elected MHA officers are: Donald DeVries, chairman of Memorial Hospital in Easton, vice chairman; Patricia Smyth, civic leader and vice chairman of Baltimore's Good Samaritan Hospital, treasurer; L. Patrick Deering, president of the Baltimore firm of Riggs, Counselman, Michaels and Downes and board chairman of South Baltimore General Hospital, secretary.