President Reagan has tapped the association community in Washington to fill five positions on this year's Presidential Board of Advisors on Private Sector Initiatives.

Edward O. Fritts, president and chief executive officer of the National Association of Broadcasters, was selected as vice chairman of the board in recognition of that group's program on alcohol and drug abuse called "Say No to Drugs," which aired on networks across the country.

The PSI advisory board is an outgrowth of the administration's efforts to decrease dependence on the government by increasing private-sector involvement and funding of community relations and economic programs.

The board was established in August 1981 as a task force to the president, and has since become a 30-member advisory board made up of professionals from business and the nonprofit sector.

Other elected members from area associations included: John M. Albertine, president of the American Business Conference; Alexander Trowbridge, president of the National Association of Manufacturers; Robert Woodson, president of the National Center for Neighborhood Enterprise, and R. William Taylor, president of the American Society of Association Executives.

This is the second year that ASAE has been represented on the board. The organization sponsors a C-Flag program that awards flags as recognition for association-sponsored community action programs across the country. PROFESSIONAL

Benjamin Civiletti, U.S. attorney general in 1979 and 1980, was named general counsel to the American Tort Reform Association on Feb. 14. The association is one of many groups that have formed recently to address liability-insurance issues. ATRA members include the American Medical Association, the American Legislative Council, the American Trucking Association and almost 100 other business and professional groups. The group is concentrating on reforming civil and tort laws at the state level. ATRA President Jim Coyne commented on the appointment by saying, "The experience Mr. Civiletti brings to the American Tort Reform Association will give us strong support in solving this crisis. . . . "

Randall N. Smith, the cofounder and chairman of DeRand Investment Corp., an Arlington financial planning firm involved in the creation of limited partnerships, has been elected to serve on a National Association of Security Dealers Inc. area conduct committee. During his three-year term with the District No. 10 Business Conduct Committee, Smith will review NASD staff reports about the conduct of securities firms located in the District, Maryland, Virginia and North Carolina.

The Urban Land Institute has offered almost $80,000 in grants to three universities in an effort to improve the quality of real estate development courses offered in schools across the country. The grants were given to the University of Cincinnati, Atlanta University and Southern Methodist University, and are to be used for urban planning and real estate development. Each of the universities was asked to prepare case studies that could be used by other interested groups. TRADE

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce has replaced Michael A. Samuels, who has left his job as the chamber's vice president-international to fill an appointment as deputy U.S. trade representative, with William T. Archey, deputy assistant for trade at the Commerce Department since 1982. In his new position with the chamber, Archey will be the principal spokesman on international economic policy issues.

The Community Broadcasters Association, representing the country's fledgling low-powered television industry, has elected Vienna businessman Rick Hutcheson as its president. Hutcheson is the founder and president of Impact Television Inc., which owns and operates a conventional television station in Iowa and three low-powered stations in the Midwest. The CBA, founded in January 1985, has concentrated on regulatory and "industry building" activities, said Hutcheson.

Sandy Shapiro, secretary-treasurer for Cambridge Iron and Metal Co. Inc. in Baltimore, has begun a two-year term as president of the Institute of Scrap Iron and Steel. Based in Washington, the group represents 1,260 companies nationwide that process scrap metal.