Atlantic Research Corp. in Alexandria has promoted James N. Hufford to president and chief executive officer of Systematics General Corp., a computer security equipment firm acquired last year by ARC.

One of the first employes to join Systematics General after it was founded in 1969, Hufford, 52, was executive vice president in charge of operations and the company's manufacturing plant.

In his new position, Hufford said, he will assume additional responsibility for the company's marketing and finance, as well as engineering services. In addition, H. E. Lowell will become second in charge after Hufford as senior vice president.

Hufford succeeds Bernard Farkas, the company's founder, who will become vice chairman and will have a significant role in strategic planning and product development, ARC said. Farkas, 52, had been president and chairman since the company's inception. After the merger, W. Gerald Hamm, of ARC, became chairman of the board.

At its facility in Sterling, Va., Systematics General modifies computers and peripheral equipment to add security features required by the Defense Department.

Hufford said the merger has successfully taken advantage of the respective specialties of the two firms. ARC, while primarily a producer of rocket engines, also has an electronics and communications engineering business, which has helped Systematics General, he said.


Martin Shaw, former British diplomat, has been promoted from head of marketing to publisher of Defense & Foreign Affairs, according to the journal's Washington publisher, The Perth Corp. Michael Collins Dunn, an adjunct professor at Georgetown University, has been promoted to editor from managing editor. And Bryan R. Daves, formerly with Congressional Quarterly and the National Journal, has been named managing editor. The company said it plans to expand its advertising and editorial staffs in Washington and London.

Peter B. Clark, former president and chairman of the Evening News Association of Detroit, was elected to the board of directors of Gannett Co. Inc., increasing Gannett's board membership to 19.

Robert C. Engle, former public relations director for Govatos Dunn & Borcz in Alexandria, has formed Englewood & Co., a public relations and marketing firm.

MultiComm Telecommunications Corp. in Arlington has appointed Raymond C. Rask as vice president in charge of operations, engineering and customer service. Rask is founder and former president of Telecommunications Transmission Systems in Salt Lake City.

Joan Homa, former retail sales manager of WGMS AM/FM, has been promoted to general sales manager for the station.

Earle Palmer Brown Cos. in Bethesda has promoted four managers: Louise H. Smoak, formerly assistant to the president, to vice president for finance and administration; Mari B. Tuma, previously account supervisor at Brown Direct, to vice president and account supervisor; Ronald E. Pottle, former creative director, to vice president and creative director, and Donald E. Ratliff, currently account supervisor of EPB Advertising, to vice president and management supervisor for Brown Design and Promotion.

Robert G. Perry, of the public affairs office of American Telephone & Telegraph Co., has been named president of Complete Communications Inc., a Washington public relations and marketing firm. Perry succeeds John B. Gillam III, who has been appointed chief executive officer.


Kirkpatrick & Lockhart, in Boston, has announced new members of its Washington office: B. Jeanine Hull, former counsel for the House of Representative's Committee on Energy & Commerce; Therese L. Miller, former enforcement division branch chief with the Securities and Exchange Commission; Robert S. Monheit, former staff attorney with the Federal Home Loan Bank Board; Ann Graham O'Bryant, former regional counsel for the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.; and Charles H. Reid Jr., former minority counsel of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Smith Segreti Tepper McMahon & Harned, a Washington architectural firm, has appointed Dennis T. Glavin as director of marketing. He worked for a Florida architectural firm.

Pace Group Inc. has appointed Maureen C. Brown to the new post of comptroller for the McLean architectural firm, with overall responsibility for accounting and finances.

Edward G. Grafton, former head of a Miami architectural firm, has been named vice president of architecture at Greenhorne & O'Mara Inc., one of the largest engineering design firms in the area.

Nursing Staff Inc., a home-health-care firm in Fairfax, has appointed Linda C. Schwarten as its administrator. She was regional manager at Manor Healthcare Corp.


Black & Decker Corp. has named Nolan D. Archibald chief executive officer, in addition to his position as president of the Towson manufacturer. Laurence J. Farley, who relinquishes the title of chief executive officer, will remain chairman of the company.


Warren T. Braham, senior vice president and corporate secretary of First American Bank of Virginia, this week becomes president of the bank's Loudoun County region. Braham will replace John P. Waller, who is retiring after more than 25 years in the region.

Women's National Bank has appointed Shirley B. Flaig, vice president and comptroller/cashier, to the bank's board of directors, bringing membership to eight.


Najeeb E. Halaby, chairman of the Dulles Rapid Transit Co. and Jannelle Aviation in Leesburg, has been elected to the board of directors of Presidential Airways, increasing membership to seven. Halaby served as chairman of Pan American Airways and as administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration in the 1960s and 1970s.


Georgetown University has appointed three new members to its board for a three-year term: Gene F. Jankowski, president of CBS Inc.'s broadcast group; William G. McGowan, chairman and chief executive officer of MCI Communications Corp.; and Donald J. Donahue, senior partner in Energy Capital Associates.


George Wacker, a supervisory metallurgical engineer with 28 years of experience in Navy research and development, has been selected head of the ship materials engineering department of the David Taylor Naval Ship Research and Development Center.