The Old Post Office Building, the Georgetown Park shopping and residential complex and the Sumner Square and School were among the recipients of the first annual Mayor's Architectural Design Awards, presented by Mayor Marion S. Barry Jr. Friday.

The awards, which went to eight architectural firms and two individuals, were created "to recognize significant contributions of the architectural design profession in enhancing, preserving and creating an improved aesthetic environment within the District of Columbia."

First Awards for Architecture were presented to Arthur Cotton Moore Associates for the Old Post Office building; O'Neil-Manion Architects for the Indian Artifacts Collection Building at Hillwood Museum; and Joseph E. Wnuk Architects, P.C., for a residence at 4205 Linnean Ave. NW.

Merit Awards for Architecture went to Clark Tribble Harris and Li Architects, P.A., for Georgetown Park, and Hartman-Cox Architects for a residential addition at 4400 Garfield St. NW.

Citations for Architecture were given to Billy Sahm and Associates for Rex Wine & Spirits Inc., and Hartman-Cox/Navy Marshall Gordon, P.C., RTKL Associates Inc. and Ehrenkrantz Group for Sumner Square and School.

Two individuals won special awards. Carol B. Thompson, former director of the District's Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs, was recognized for her work in streamlining the permit process and her efforts to balance the pressures for preservation and new development.

Architecture critic Wolf Von Eckardt was recognized for his efforts to increase public attention to design issues through his writing in The Washington Post and Time magazine.

The winners were chosen from a field of 69 entries by an advisory panel. Judging was based on "the clarity of information presented, pertinence to the District's design profession and improvement in the city's environmental condition and visual excellence."