The Airline Industrial Relations Conference named Bruce R. LeMar president; Ronald A. Butschle vice president; Jerrold A. Glass vice president and treasurer; and Robert J. DeLucia general counsel and secretary.

The Health Insurance Association of America named Charles L. Eby director of its new research and statistics department. Promotions at the association include: Karen Williams to director of the new policy and planning department, and Robert O. Borchardt to director of its new management and budget department. George Wells, director of company relations, will be given additional responsibilities over HIAA's three annual meetings.

The National Association of Life Underwriters promoted Denise J. Patton to vice president of public relations. Also promoted were: Kurt R. Ryan to vice president of information services, Timothy L. Bigelow to assistant vice president of conventions and meetings, and Martha M. Niemann to assistant vice president of association services.

The Travel Industry Association of America appointed Lovetta Kramer chairman and Lloyd E. Axelrod vice chairman.

Mark Jeffrey Sharp joined the Smokeless Tobacco Council Inc. as director of state relations.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education appointed Paul Chewning vice president of alumni administration and Mary Joan McCarthy interim vice president for educational fund raising.

Russell G. Harris has been appointed director of research and publications of the Master Printers of America.

The National Association of Manufacturers promoted Sharon F. Canner to assistant vice president of industrial relations.

Eden D. Safarty was elected executive director of the National Organization of Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association.

The Interstate Natural Gas Association of America named Edward B. Myers assistant general counsel.

Christopher R. Darling was appointed executive vice president and director of the American Institute of Mortgage Brokers.

William C. Purple was elected chairman of the board of governors of the Aerospace Industries Association Inc. Also elected were Caleb B. Hurtt, vice chairman; Don Fuqua, president; and George F. Copsey, secretary-treasurer.

The Association of American Railroads appointed Carol B. Perkins director of media services for its information and public affairs department.

John L. Pickitt was appointed president of the Computer and Business Equipment Manufacturers Association.

Dean G. Boyle was elected president of the Baltimore/Washington Chapter of the International Customer Service Association. Also elected were L. Page Callahan, vice president; Roslyn G. Washington, secretary; and Yvonne McKenney, treasurer.

The American Chemical Society elected Ernest L. Eliel chairman; Gordon L. Nelson president; and Clayton F. Callis president-elect.

The Associated General Contractors of Virginia elected Craig Curtis president; Wade Thomas first vice president; Gary Camp second vice president; Bill Becker vice president of associate affairs; and Ken Luhman secretary-treasurer.


Patrick C. Ryan has been elected to a three-year term as a governor of the National Association of Securities Dealers Inc.

Riggs National Bank named Alexander C. Baker senior vice president and trust officer and David K. Tuttle Jr. senior vice president and trust investment officer.

Capitol Financial Consultants Inc. of Vienna named Joel E. Stillman president; James J. Bruyette vice president; Frank J. McGovern treasurer; and Glenn G. Kautt secretary.

Internet Inc. of Reston promoted Michael A. Nicholson to controller and Richard G. Lyons to director of marketing. Internet owns and operates the MOST automated teller machine network.


JAK Construction Inc., a Falls Church commercial interior construction firm, named Nicholas B. Timreck chief estimator.


Michael Bradley has joined COMSAT Corp.'s Intelsat Satellite Services division as director of video sales.

LIGHTNET, a Rockville fiber optic telecommunication services company, promoted John A. Colucci to vice president of sales and Gerald F. Clement to assistant vice president of marketing. William A. Rahe was named vice president of engineering.

WUSA-TV named Larry Herbster vice president of business affairs; Sandra Butler-Jones vice president of broadcast operations; Dave Pearce vice president of news; Henry Price vice president of programming and marketing; and Henry K. Yaggi III vice president of sales.

Raymond J. O'Brien was named president of US Sprint's Reston-based Eastern Business Market Group.


Paul C. Meyer, executive vice president for finance and administration and chief financial officer of Coleco Industries Inc., was elected to the board of Rockville-based Software Products Inc.

Leonard F. Deerkoski was named vice president for systems engineering and technical assistance at Falls Church-based Computer Sciences Corp.

Group 1 Software of Greenbelt named Scott Miller director of technical support.


Judy J. Rutherford was named affirmative action officer of the Alexandria effective Jan. 15.

Patricia de Stacy Harrison was appointed a member of the Small Business Administration National Advisory Council.


Ron Oudinot was named general manager of the new Days Inn Hotel in Laurel, scheduled to open in late January. Elizabeth Parker was named director of sales.


Graphic Fine Color, a Hyattsville ink manufacturer, named C. Douglas Killian sales manager.

Applied Energy Services Inc. of Arlington elected Dennis W. Bakke president; Robert F. Hemphill Jr. executive vice president; Kenneth R. Woodcock senior vice president; Mark S. Fitzpatrick, Thomas A. Tribone and Barry J. Sharp vice presidents.


Marsha McGraw Olive has joined the Committee for National Security as deputy director.


Alexander M. Laughlin has joined the Alexandria law firm of Gold & Stanley, P.C.

Stephen A. Brown has joined the law firm of Kirkpatrick & Lockhart as a partner in its Washington office.

Alan H. Dugan, manager of the Washington office of the consulting firm of Towers Perrin, was elected to its board.

Planning Research Corp., a McLean technology-based professional services firm, promoted Thomas Furst to senior vice president of finance. Also promoted were Karol Burt, vice president of marketing; Walter Smith, vice president of marketing for program development operations and supporting systems integration programs; Peter Moss, vice president of procurement operations in the finance division; Scott Forrester, vice president of contracts and finance in the defense systems division; and Harish Kathpal, vice president in the systems integration division.

Macro Systems Inc., a Silver Spring professional and technical services company, promoted William M. Sowers to vice president.

Michael Hamm was named executive director of Smith, Bucklin & Associates Inc., a Washington multiassociation management firm.

The University Research Corp. named Maureen J. Carroll senior vice president and director of its newly created staff and organizational effectiveness group.

Send information about appointments, promotions and other personnel moves to Pamela Babcock, researcher, Business News Department, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. All material must be submitted in writing by the Monday preceding publication.