John J. Sweeney, president of the AFL-CIO, elected to his fourth term despite much dissent.

Luis Alberto Moreno, longtime Colombian ambassador to the United States, as president of the Inter-American Development Bank.

Jason A. Flanary, a former Republican congressional staffer, as executive director of CapNet, a high-tech lobbying organization.

Rep. Christopher Cox (R-Calif.), as chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Annette L. Nazareth and Roel C. Campos, as Democratic SEC commissioners.

Ronald Martin, as chief operating officer of NETeller, an online money transfer company.


Juergen E. Schrempp, as chief executive of DaimlerChrysler AG, more than two years before his contract expires. He will be replaced by Dieter Zetsche, president of the U.S. division.

Charles A. Hasper, as finance chief of Vienna-based Allied Defense Group, to take the same job at District-based IT GlobalSecure Corp.

David Hayes, as chief executive of DAT Group PLC, after reports of pending poor results.

James O. Robbins, as chief executive of Cox Communications Inc. After he retires at year-end, he will be replaced by Patrick J. Esser, an executive vice president and chief operating officer.

Lachlan Murdoch, as a senior executive at News Corp., his father's media conglomerate.