RETURN TO AUSCHWITZ: The Remarkable Story of a Girl Who Survived the Holocaust, by Kitty Hart. When horror reaches an inconceivable scale, as it did at Auschwitz and the other Nazi concentration camps, no single book can encompass it. Instead one needs books of all kinds -- memoirs, novels, diaries, photograph albums, oral testimonies, histories, cultural studies -- just to begin to fathom that universe of death. Prisoners displaying ordinary humanity and superhuman courage, guards and executioners revealing an absolute spiritual dessication -- places like Auschwitz show us what we are as nothing else can. As a young girl, Kitty Hart lived through that hell and here writes of her experience with clarity and a sorrowful, difficult understanding. (Book World, March 21)

TAKING CARE, by Joy Williams. If fiction, as has been claimed, is the making of the familiar into something strange and fresh and new, then Joy Williams is a writer no one should neglect. Her exactness of vision, unexpected nuances, and a prose both careful and serene combine with subject matter at once elliptical and disturbing. Nothing happens, everything changes. Readers who enjoy William Gass or Raymond Carver should add Williams to their shelves. (Book World, March 21)

GREEN GROW THE DOLLARS, by Emma Lathen. Handsome, astute, and suave, John Putnam Thatcher, vice president of Sloan Guaranty Trust, is a bank executive that even homeowners with 18 percent mortgages can admire. He does, however, spend more of his time investigating than investing, usually murders with a financial or business background. In this latest adventure he looks into rival claims over a new hybrid tomato, claims that seem to lead to the fertilizer-poisoning of a secretary. Virtually all the Lathen novels are good mysteries, but their especial pleasure derives from the witty dialogue of the engaging, often eccentric, characters. (Book World, March 21)