This author was chosen, at the tender age of 20, to continue a famous fantasy series after the original author's death. The new author did well, writing one a year for 19 years with such titles as Speedy in

, Kabumpo in

, Jack Pumpkinhead in

, and Captain Salt in

. (The blanks represent the series' key word, with which every book, by both authors, ends.) Name the series, the original author and the writer who took over.

All entries (one per person) must be clearly written on postcards and mailed to: Book Bag, The Washington Post, Washington, D.C. 20071, and must include complete return address and competition number. The winning entry will be the first correct answer drawn at random. Employes of The Washington Post Company and their families are not eligible to enter. Entries must be received no later than August 6th. The winner's name and city of residence will be announced in the August 16th issue of Book World. A Washington Post Book World book bag will be sent to the winner.

Answer to Book Bag #427: The clerical crimebusters' creators are: (1) G.K. Chesterton (Father Brown); (2) Harry Kemelman (Rabbi Small); (3) William X. Kienzle (Reverend Bob Koesler); (4) Ralph McInerny (Father Dowling); (5) Leonard Holton (Father Bredder); and (6) Ellis Peters (Brother Cadfael).

Winner: Barbara A. Mutz, Falls Church, Va.