The Food section of The Washington Post was cited for its outstanding contribution to consumer education yesterday by members of the Metropolitan Area Mass Media Committee of the American Association of University Women.

The 24th annual MAMM awards, recognizing excellence in the fields of journalism, and television and radio broadcasting in the Washington area, also singled out the WTOP-TV Eyewitness News Team; anchorman David Schoumacher; consumer reported Lea Thompson; Maureen Bunyan; Davey Marlin Jones (Male Critic of the Year); and WGMS radio for its live concert broadcasts from the National Gallery.

The awards were determined by surveys of the 18 AAUW branches in the Washington area, and reflect the opinions of their 2,200 members.

FCC Commissioner Margita E. White addressed the winners at the ceremonies held at the AAUW national headquarters.

The winners: WETA-TV for public and international affairs; WTOP-TV Eyewitness News Team; "Washington Odyssey," WRC-TV news special by Bryson Rash; Maureen Bunyan for reports on the Panama Canal; Lea Thompson for Contact 4; David Schoumacher for "Hubert Humphrey"; The Washington Star for "Action Line"; WJLA-TV's Jim Clarke for "Inside St. E's"; The Washington Post Food section; Smithsonian Associates (Smithsonian Magazine); Davey Marlin Jones; "Wall Street Week" (PBS); WGMS radio; WAMU-FM radio for "Special Education Week"; "It's Academic"; and "Bartleby the Scrivener," produced by the Maryland Center for Public Broadcasting.