A District administrative law judge, a Justice Department official and a former member of the board of governors of the D.C. Bar have been nominated for a seat on the D.C. Superior Court.

The candidates were nominated by the seven-member D.C. Judicial Nomination Commission, which forwarded the candidates' names to the White House on July 20. Under D.C. law, President Carter has 60 days to select a nominee for the judgeship from among the three candidates. The President's selection is subject to confirmation by the Senate.

A vacancy on the 44-member Superior Court bench occured after Chief Judge Harold H. Greene resigned last month to accept a judgeship on the U.S. District Court here. Judge H. Carl Moultrie I, a Superior Court trial judge for five years, was designated by the Commission to be the new chief judge of the local court.

The candidates for the Superior Court judgeship are Judge Harriet R. Taylor, the city's administrative law judge for consumer complaints; Frank E. Schwelb, chief of the housing and credit section of the civil rights division of the Justice Department, and Peter H. Wolf a member of the Bar's board of governors for five years and a former assistant D.C. corporation counsel.

Taylor, 46, a former member of the D.C. Democratic Central Committee and former president of the Greater Washington chapter of Americans for Democratic Action, was named the city's first adminstrative law judge by Mayor Walter E. Washington in 1976.

As administrative law judge for the city's consumer protection office, Taylor hears complaints concerning such areas as false advertising and credit contract disputes.

Schwelb, 46, has been an attorney with the Justice Department for 16 years. During 1976 and 1977 Schwelb was special counsel to a government panel that investigated charges of improper conduct by officials of the Food and Drug Administration in connection with the pharmaceutical industry and FDA medical officers and outsiders. Schwelb now heads the housing and credit section of the Justice Department's civil rights division which bring fair housing and equal suits in the District and nationwide.

Wolf, 43, was a staff attorney with President Johnson's Commission on Crime in the District of Columbia in 1965 and 1966. He has also served as a project director at the Institute for Criminal Law and Procedure at the Georgetown University Law Center.

Wolf is a former chairman of the Young Lawyers Section of the Bar Association of the District of Columbia, a voluntary organization of lawyers, and is a member of the D.C. Court of Appeals committee on the unauthorized practice of law.

A D.C. Superior Court judge is appointed for a 15-year term and is paid $49,050 a year.

Members of the D.C. Judicial Nomination Commission, established in 1974 under the city's home rule act, are appointed by the President, the mayor, the local bar, the city council and by the chief judge of the U.S. District Court here.

Judge Harold Greene, newly appointed to the federal court, was recently named to the nomination commission after U.S. District Court Judge Oliver Gasch asked to be taken off the panel. Gasch, a commission member since it first began operation, made the request one day after the commission designated Judge Moultrie to take Greene's place as chief judge of the local court.

According to sources, Gasch had been a strong supporter of another Superior Court judge, James A. Belson, who was considered Moultrie's strongest competitor for the chief judgeship.