Restaurateur Michel Khoury, 34, works six days a week, typically from about 10 a.m. to anywhere from 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. Carroll Khoury, 23, works 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. three days a week as a nurse at Georgetown University Hospital.

"We keep in touch," says Carroll, "mostly by telephone." At her husband's insistence, they had a beeper put on their home phone "to make sure that when he calls he can get through."

On the days she's on duty, Michel takes care of their baby, 3 1/2-month-old Jacqueline Elizabeth, until he leaves for The Hunter's Inn in Potomac. He gets the baby up, dresses her and drops her off at the sitter's on his way to work. Carroll picks the baby up on her way home.

Wednesday--when both are off--is their day together. "I DON'T," says Carroll Khoury, "go out with the girls on Wednesdays."

Despite their unusual schedule, the Khourys claim that it works for them.

Carroll: "Our schedules work out because we've tried hard to make them so we can be together.

"It's tough when we haven't seen each other for days, but we're so used to our schedule that it works out for us. I don't think other people could handle a marriage like this."

Michel: "One advantage is that we like to be at home. We like our little place and it makes us feel good to be at home" and with their daughter. "When my wife and I go out we take her with us, even to the movies. We took her to 'Gandhi.' "

His daughter, predicts Lebanese-born Khoury, "is not going to be like me. When I call home I call my mother, you know? I never call my father. I know for sure that when my daughter grows up she's going to call me, too."

Carroll: "I would not work if I could, but Michel is in the process of trying to get his own place. That's one of our major goals, and to work a normal schedule. He and I look forward to the same thing. My schedule is long and hard but his is constant, more spread out."

Michel: "My wife would like to be a housewife and I would like for her to be a housewife. Me? I'm looking forward to running a small business, a carryout, something small I can run myself and my wife could do the books for me.

"I have been in this country 12 years, and I have been observing the opportunities. You have to decide how you want to put out now for what you will make later. This country is the best place to raise kids and to live in.

"What we are doing now is worth it. We have a goal and we want to accomplish it."