The Historic American Building Survey, which since 1933 has compiled 40,000 measured drawings, 70,000 photographs and 30,000 pages of history of buildings, ships and objects, yesterday received the Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award.

The historic preservation award, funded by Rust-Oleum Corp., was presented to HABS by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Honor awards from the Trust went to these area people and groups: Maryland Center for Public Broadcasting, Owings Mills, for its program, "The Old Houseworks"; Don't Tear it Down, Washington's citizen action group, which successfully fought to save the Old Post Office Building;; Mary Pringle Symonds of Annapolis, chairman of the Annapolis Historic District Commission; Gallaudet College for restoring its Victorian gymnasium, and the Historic Staunton (Va.) Foundation for a plan that sparked renovation of 60 commercial buildings.

Awards also went to: Peggy Thomson Gignilliat of Spartanburg, S.C., founder of the Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies and restorer of the Spartanburg Magnolia Cemetery; Victoria Romanoff of Ithaca, N.Y., a restorer and consultant; Citizens to Save St. Mark's Church-in-The-Bowery and The Edelman Partnership/Architects, New York City; Historic Faubourg St. Mary Corp. and its chairman, Charles Keller Jr. of New Orleans, creators of three historic business districts and initiators of historic legislation; Preservation Society of Newport County (Rhode Island) for the Chinese Tea House at the Marble House; John Sharratt Associates Inc., architects, for the 1807 Asher Benjamin Charles Street Meeting House, Boston; Ernest J., Louis J. and Paul F. Zampell and Staley McDermet, architects for the 1783-87 Joshua Ward House in Salem, Mass.

Also, Greater Litchfield Trust for saving the Litchfield, Conn., Post Office; Charles S. Canerday and Robert B. Roberts for the restoration of the 1928 Snell Arcade, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Fox Theatre and Fox Associates, St. Louis, for the restoration of the Fabulous Fox movie palace; Circle S. Industries of Selma, Ala., for restoration of a Greek Revival mansion that led to the revival of Fairoaks Square; George M. Irwin of Quincy, Ill., for saving the State Saving Loan & Trust Co. and other historic structures, and founding the Quincy Society of Fine Arts; and Kerry Dawson of Davis, Calif., for the heritage conservation plan for the Lower Altamaha River in Georgia and writing the Georgia Conservation and Facade Easement Act.