Five winners of an international competition seeking architectural ideas for the Center for Innovative Technology near Dulles Airport were announced yesterday in Richmond by Gov. Charles Robb.

Robert Pry, CIT president, said that construction of a $1.75 million headquarters building could begin as soon as "late summer or early fall."

The center, a quasi-public research institution utilizing the resources of six major Virginia universities, was created last summer by the Virginia General Assembly, which earmarked $30.2 million for construction and operations.

Among the five winners was Cary Franklin Dunn of Washington, who graduated in 1983 with a master's degree in architecture from the College of Architecture and Urban Studies at Virginia Polytechnic Institute in Blacksburg.

Winners were selected from 140 entries by a prestigious international jury that included Richard Rogers of England (who with Renzo Piano of Italy designed the Beaubourg Center in Paris) and architect Gunnar Birkerts of Michigan. The competition was funded with a $100,000 grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Contestants were asked to address issues such as the "merger between buildings and the computer" and the "poetic use of technology in the creation of architecture," in addition to more standard questions of site planning and building design. After viewing the winning entries, Pry commented, "The variety of concepts put forward is mind expanding." An architect -- not one of the competition winners -- will be selected in the coming months to shape the concepts into actual building plans, he said.

The wooded 30-acre site, less than two miles east of Eero Saarinen's Dulles Airport, is located to the north of the Dulles Access and Toll roads near their intersection with Route 28. A larger, $7 million structure to house laboratories and other research facilities also is planned.

Each finalist will receive a $5,000 prize. The other winners are the team of Brigitte Knowles, John Christopher and Mark J. Topetcher of the firm BUC/Knowles Architects, Philadelphia; the team of Jennifer Luce, Bruce Kowbel, Randall Romanin, Alain Albert, Judy Taylor, Frank Carter and Ovidio Sbrissa of the firm Ovidio Sbrissa Architect, Ottawa, Ont.; the team of David Ogorzalek, Stephanie Felch, Read Ferguson and Sarah Willmer of San Francisco; and the team of Peter A. Fillat, William W.P. Chan, Timothy Pellowski, D. Rodman Henderer and Mark P. Tuttle of Baltimore.

Among five winners of "honorable mention with distinction" awards of $1,000, was Kyung-Suk Kim of Arlington.