Four Washington Post reporters have been named winners in the Dateline Awards competition, sponsored by the Washington chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi.

Joe Pichirallo, Sandra Evans and Eric Pianin won in the general reporting category for their series "Bates Street Blues." The winner for feature writing was Lloyd Grove for his article "Birth of a Street Person."

Arthur M. Carter, a Washington journalist since 1937 who is editor and publisher of the Washington Afro-American, received the distinguished service award for career accomplishment in journalism.

Other winners included:

Karin Chenoweth of the Montgomery Journal, general reporting, weekly and suburban newspapers.

John Pekkanen, Marilyn Dickey, Gail Friedman and William O'Sullivan, all of the Washingtonian, general reporting.

Lou Chibbaro Jr., The Washington Blade, spot news, weekly and suburban newspapers.

Linda Lantor, the Fairfax Journal, feature, weekly and suburban newspapers.

Larry Van Dyne, the Washingtonian, feature.

Alan Greenwood, the Prince George's Journal, for sports, weekly and suburban newspapers.

Hope Lampert, the Washingtonian, business and financial reporting.

Michael Evans, the Washingtonian, photojournalism.

In the broadcast categories, WRC-TV won three awards, WMAL-AM of Washington won three awards, WAGE-AM of Leesburg won one award and the American University radio station, WAMU-FM, won one award.