Ten journalists were honored Friday with awards from the National Association of Black Journalists. The awards, which were presented at the organization's annual convention in Baltimore, were made in six categories.

Below is a list of the finalists.

*Television Journalism: Kenneth Walker, ABC News, for "Nightline in South Africa;" Melanie Freeman, Chris Donohue, Vicki Jones, Steve Melzer, WNEV-TV Boston, for "A Portrait of Success: The Legacy of Freedom House"; Stephen Hill, WSMV-TV Nashville, "Black Colleges"; Paula Sims and Randall Nordhem, KRLD-TV Dallas, for "Chronicles of a Race"; Harvey Clark, WCAU-TV Philadelphia, "Move."

*Special Recognition: Harvey Clark.

Radio Journalism: Gwendolyn Glenn, NPR-Washington, for "Rapping"; Kwaku Lynn, KPFK-FM North Hollywood, Calif., for "Rev. Jesse Jackson Confronts South African Consulate in Beverly Hills."

*Print Journalism: Mike Masterson, special writer, Arkansas Democrat, for "The Death of Marvin Williams"; Carla Hall, The Washington Post, "Apartheid and the Dancer's Anguish"; Eunetta Boone, Baltimore Evening Sun, for "NCAA Probes Morgan State's Sports Program"; Lucille S. DeView and Sheila Clark, "Today," Cocoa, Fla., for "The Civil Rights Act: A 40-Year Look Before and After."

*Photo-Journalism/Still: John White, Chicago Sun Times, for "Good-bye Ben Wilson, We Love You"; Dudley M. Brooks, The Washington Post, for "One Last Look."

*Photo-Journalism/Broadcast: James Buckner, Jr., WSMV-TV Nashville, for "Photo Essay of a Prison Boxer"; Artie Williams and Rawn Hairston, KABC-TV Hollywood, for "The Jacksons."

*International Reporting: Nathaniel Sheppard, Chicago Tribune, for "Coverage of South Africa"; Josh Friedman, Dennis Bell and Ozier Muhammed, Newsday, "Africa: The Desperate Continent"; Kenneth Walker, ABC News, "Nightline in South Africa." (tie)

In addition, Lou Palmer, a longtime Chicago journalist, received the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Dennis Bell and Kenneth Walker tied for Journalist of the Year.