The 1994 Tony nominees were officially announced today after an unusually long deliberation. Leading in the number of nominations were "Passion," the controversial new work by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine, with 10; the revival of the 1933 musical "She Loves Me," with nine; and the arriviste Disney "Beauty and the Beast," also with nine.

The nominating committee wrangled for almost three hours longer than is customary, so the nominations, traditionally announced at 1:30 p.m., were not released until 4:30. According to a statement by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing, which produced the awards, "the 1994 rules and regulations require the nominating committee to select four nominees in each category. In three categories, the Tony nominating committee unanimously requested a reduction in the number of nominees. In two of those categories, that request was denied by the Tony Administration Subcommittee."

The only category that finally emerged with just three nominations was Best Original Score, with awards suggested for "Passion," "Cyrano -- the Musical" and Disney's "Beauty and the Beast."

The biggest surprise in the nominations is that Neil Simon's "Laughter on the 23rd Floor," which received generally glowing reviews, was shut out.

Arthur Miller's "Broken Glass" received a Best Play nomination, as did the Pulitzer Prize-winning epic "The Kentucky Cycle" (co-produced by the Kennedy Center); Anna Deavere Smith's one-woman show about the Los Angeles riots, "Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992"; and, as expected, "Perestroika," the second half of Tony Kushner's "Angels in America" (the first half, "Millennium Approaches," won Best Play last year).

Aside from "Passion," Best Musical nominations went to "A Grand Night for Singing," "Cyrano" and "Beauty and the Beast." The winners will be announced June 12 at the Gershwin Theater in ceremonies that will be televised by CBS.

The nominees:

Play: "Angels in America: Perestroika" by Tony Kushner; "Broken Glass" by Arthur Miller; "The Kentucky Cycle" by Robert Schenkkan; "Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992" by Anna Deavere Smith.

Musical: "A Grand Night for Singing"; "Beauty and the Beast"; "Cyrano -- the Musical"; "Passion."

Actor, Play: Brian Bedford, "Timon of Athens"; Christopher Plummer, "No Man's Land"; Stephen Spinella, "Angels in America: Perestroika"; Sam Waterston, "Abe Lincoln in Illinois."

Actress, Play: Nancy Marchand, "Black Comedy"; Diana Rigg, "Medea"; Joan Rivers, "Sally Marr ... and her escorts"; Anna Deavere Smith, "Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992."

Actor, Musical: Boyd Gaines, "She Loves Me"; Victor Garber, "Damn Yankees"; Terrence Mann, "Beauty and the Beast"; Jere Shea, "Passion."

Actress, Musical: Susan Egan, "Beauty and the Beast"; Dee Hoty, "The Best Little Whorehouse Goes Public"; Judy Kuhn, "She Loves Me"; Donna Murphy, "Passion."

Book, Musical: Walter Bobbie, "A Grand Night for Singing"; Linda Woolverton, "Beauty and the Beast"; Koen Van Dijk, "Cyrano -- the Musical"; James Lapine, "Passion."

Score, Musical: Alan Menken, Howard Ashman and Tim Rice, "Beauty and the Beast"; Ad Van Dijk, Koen Van Dijk, Peter Reeves and Sheldon Harnick, "Cyrano -- the Musical"; Stephen Sondheim, "Passion."

Director, Play: Stephen Daldry, "An Inspector Calls"; Gerald Gutierrez, "Abe Lincoln in Illinois"; Michael Langham, "Timon of Athens"; George C. Wolfe, "Angels in America: Perestroika."

Director, Musical: Scott Ellis, "She Loves Me"; Nicholas Hytner, "Carousel"; James Lapine, "Passion"; Robert Jess Roth, "Beauty and the Beast."

Featured Actor, Play: Larry Bryggman, "Picnic"; David Marshall Grant, "Angels in America: Perestroika"; Gregory Itzin, "The Kentucky Cycle"; Jeffrey Wright, "Angels in America: Perestroika."

Featured Actress, Play: Jane Adams, "An Inspector Calls"; Debra Monk, "Picnic"; Jeanne Paulsen, "The Kentucky Cycle"; Anne Pitoniak, "Picnic."

Featured Actor, Musical: Tom Aldredge, "Passion"; Gary Beach, "Beauty and the Beast"; Jarrod Emick, "Damn Yankees"; Jonathan Freeman, "She Loves Me."

Featured Actress, Musical: Marcia Lewis, "Grease"; Sally Mayes, "She Loves Me"; Marin Mazzie, "Passion"; Audra Ann McDonald, "Carousel."

Revival, Play: "Abe Lincoln in Illinois"; "An Inspector Calls"; "Medea"; "Timon of Athens."

Revival, Musical: "Carousel"; "Damn Yankees"; "Grease"; "She Loves Me."

Scenic Design: Bob Crowley, "Carousel"; Peter J. Davison, "Medea"; Ian MacNeil, "An Inspector Calls"; Tony Walton, "She Loves Me."

Costume Design: David Charles and Jane Greenwood, "She Loves Me"; Jane Greenwood, "Passion"; Ann Hould-Ward, "Beauty and the Beast"; Yan Tax, "Cyrano -- the Musical."

Lighting Design: Beverly Emmons, "Passion"; Jules Fisher, "Angels in America: Perestroika"; Rick Fisher, "An Inspector Calls"; Natasha Katz, "Beauty and the Beast."

Choreography: Jeff Calhoun, "Grease"; Sir Kenneth MacMillan, "Carousel"; Rob Marshall, "Damn Yankees"; Rob Marshall, "She Loves Me."

Special award for continued excellence by a regional theater: McCarter Theatre of Princeton, N.J.

Special award for lifetime achievement in the theater (new this year): Jessica Tandy and Hume Cronyn.