Lights Out

These holiday light festivals close this week:

* The Winter Lights Festival, a 3.5-mile drive through an enchanted forest setting, closes New Year's Eve at Seneca Creek State Park, 11950 Clopper Rd., Gaithersburg. The light show is open Friday and Saturday from 6 to 10, and Sunday through Tuesday from 6 to 9. Admission is $10 per car. Call 301-258-6350.

* The Pageant of Peace, on the Ellipse south of the White House (Metro: McPherson Square, Federal Triangle), features the National Christmas Tree and trees representing every state and territory. The pageant is open from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily through Wednesday. Musical entertainment continues nightly through Monday. Call 202-208-1631.

* The Washington Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints' Festival of Lights is open from 5:30 to 10 nightly through Wednesday at the Washington Temple Visitors Center, 9900 Stoneybrook Dr., Kensington. The festival features more than 300,000 colorful lights on the grounds, a display of 20 decorated trees, and nightly concerts at 7 and 8. Admission is free. Call 301-587-0144.

Stars on Ice

Olympic pairs champions Jamie Sale and David Pelletier, Elena Berezhnaya and Anton Sikharulidze, Olympic men's champion Alexei Yagudin and other ice skating stars perform at the Smucker's Stars on Ice Sunday at 7 at MCI Center, 601 F St. NW (Metro: Gallery Place/Chinatown). Tickets are $35 to $60, plus service charges, through Ticketmaster, 202-432-7328; for information, call 202-628-3200.

A Final 'Nutcracker'

The Virginia Ballet performs "The Nutcracker" Friday through Sunday at 2 and 7 at the Ernst Community Cultural Theater at the Northern Virginia Community College, 8333 Little River Tnpk., Annandale. Tickets are $20, $15 for seniors, $12 for children 11 and younger. Call 703-249-8227.

-- Compiled by Larry Fox

These stars skate into MCI Center Sunday: The women, from left, are Katarina Witt, Renee Roca, Jamie Sale, Kyoko Ina, Elena Berezhnaya and Jenni Meno. The men, from left: Anton Sikharulidze, John Zimmerman, Gorsha Sur, Todd Eldredge, Todd Sand, David Pelletier, Kurt Browning and Alexei Yagudin.