* A U.S. senator or House member introduces the bill.

* It's sent to a committee of the Senate or House for study.

* The committee can release the bill for a vote by the full Senate or House (changing the language if it wishes) or put it aside.

* If released, the bill is debated and voted on in the chamber where it came from. A simple majority -- more votes "for" than "against" -- is needed to pass a bill. If the bill passes, it moves to the other chamber and repeats the process.

* If either chamber doesn't pass the bill, it dies (but can be reintroduced later).

* If the Senate and the House pass different versions, a special committee with members from both chambers tries to work out a compromise that both sides will approve.

* Once approved, the bill is sent to the president, who has 10 days to sign or veto it. Congress can override, or turn aside, a veto with a two-thirds vote in each chamber. Once the bill is signed or a veto overridden, it is considered a law.

The Liberty Bill Act has been introduced in Congress four times. It remains under consideration in both the Senate and House.