1871 Washington's first professional team, Olympics, plays in National Association. The Olympics fold the next season and are replaced by a team called Nationals, which folds in 1875.

1886 Washington Senators enter National League. Also called Statesmen, team lasts until 1889.

1892 New Senators team joins National League. Team plays through 1899.

1901 New eight-team American League includes Washington Senators, also known as Nationals.

1913 Pitcher Walter Johnson wins 36 games and first of two MVP awards.

1924 Senators win American League pennant and World Series, defeating New York Giants in 12th inning of Game 7.

1925 Another World Series for Washington, which loses to Pittsburgh in seven games.

1933 New York Giants defeat Senators in five-game World Series.

1936 Johnson one of first five men elected to Baseball Hall of Fame.

1961 Owner Calvin Griffith moves team to Minnesota (team now called Twins). Washington gets expansion club: New Senators lose 100 or more games in each of first four seasons.

1969 Hall of Famer Ted Williams becomes manager, leads team to a winning record. Montreal Expos begin play in National League.

1971 With third-worst attendance in major leagues, Senators owner Bob Short moves team (now called Rangers) to Texas for '72 season. One of club's future co-owners: George W. Bush.

2004 Baseball officials announce Montreal Expos will move to Washington for 2005 season.