For general information about the D.C. school system, call the schools' communications office at 724-4044. The public information director is Olive Covington.

For problems that have not been dealt with satisfactorily in individual schools, parents should contact the regional assistant superintendent responsible for the particular school:

Region 1 - Reuben Pierce, 767-7065.

Region 2 - Dorothy L. Johnson, 724-4967.

Region 3 - Andrew Jenkins, 724-4934.

Region 4 - William H. Brown, 724-4785.

Region 5 - William Saunders (acting), 576-6334.

Region 6 - P. Gary Freeman, 576-6056.

For questions about special education, call assistant superintendent Doris A. Woodson, 724-4018.

For information about vocational schools, call assistant superintendent Otho Jones, 724-4178.

School Superintendent Vincent Reed and Vice Superintendent Elizabeth Yancey can both be reached at 724-4222.

The D.C. School Board holds regular meetings on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Presidential Building, 415 12th St. NW.

During the school year the board also holds monthly community meetings, at which members of the public may speak. The meetings take place in different parts of the city. For information, contact the school board's executive secretary, Dwight S. Cropp, 724-4289.

Members of the school board are: Dr. Therman Evans (president-at-large), Carol Schwartz (vice president, Ward 3), Bettie G. Benjamin (Ward 5), Julius Hobson Jr. (Ward 8), Elizabeth C. Kane (at-large), Barbara Lett Simmons, (at-large), Conrad P. Smith (Ward 1), Victoria Street (Ward 4), William Treanor (Ward 2), John Warren (Ward 6) and Minnie S. Woodson (Ward 7). All of them can be reached through the board office, 724-4289.