William F. Vosbeck Jr. has been named Eighth Congressional District Chairman of a group of businessmen supporting the Republican gubernatorial candidacy of Lt. Gov. John N. Dalton. The announcement was made by J. Clifford Miller Jr., statewide chairman of the Business and Industry Committee, Virginians for Dalton.

Virginians for Dalton is a coalition of Democrats, former Democrats and Independents supporting the Dalton campaign. The group is headed by former State Del. W. Roy Smith of Petersburg. Vosbeck is senior partner in the Alexandria architectural and engineering firm of Vosbeck, Vosbeck, Kendrick and Redingia Chamber of Commerce, where he has been recognized for business and civic leadership.

Other District chairmen of the Business and Industry Committee are: 1st, Sture G. Olsson, chairman of The Chesapeake Corp. of Virginia; 2nd, Clinton E. Thurston Jr., president, C.E. Thurston Inc.; 3rd, Frank Louthan Jr., president, Richmond Engineering Co.; 4th, Dr. D.W. Duncan, vice president, Virginia Chemicals Inc.; 5th, Ralph Lester, chairman, Nationwide Homes; 6th, Harold P. Kyle, vice president, The Chesapeake Corp. of Virginia; 7th, Frank Armstrng III, president, Natinal Fruit Product Co. Inc.; 9th, William J. Tilley Jr., president, Bristol Steel and Iron Works Inc.; and 10th, John B. Adams Jr., vice president, A Smith Bowman Distillery.