The following students who attend school in suburban Virginia are among approximately 15,000 students to be named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in the 23rd annual program. They were selected from more than one million students who entered the 1978 Merit program. The semifinalists represent the top one-half per cent of the nation's most academically talented young people.

The seminfinalists are the highest-scoring students in each state who took the 1976 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. To be considered for scholarships, they must advance to finalist standing by meeting additional requirements, such as being fully endorsed and recommended for scholarships by their secondary school principals, presenting school reports that confirm high academic standing, and substantiating their high qualifying test scores with equivalent scores on a second examination.

More than 90 per cent of the semifinalists are expected to qualify as finalists and to receive certificates of merit next February, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Those who become finalists will compete for at least a thousand National Merit $1,000 scholarships, which are one-time, nonrenewable awards. Finalists who meet preferential criteria designated by grantors will also be considered for about $2,900 four-year Merit scholarships to be offered in 1978.

The semifinalists are:

ALEXANDRIA - Ascension Academy: Brendan S. Ross and Marshall S. Ruben.

Fort Hunt High School: William S. Dudgeon, John J. Laffan, William M. Mizell, Elizabeth A. Nagle and Elizabeth Wiegard.

Groveton High School: John C. Baez, Thomas J. Hickey, David L. Kitzmiller and James G. Martin.

Hayfield Secondary School: John R. Koslow.

Mount Vernon High School: William F. Baird, Paul N. Chaloux, James Easton, John M. Miller and Katherine L. Quigley.

St. Agnes School for Girls: Gail E. Carroll, Elizabeth L. Ellis, Elizabeth W. Ramsey and JanAnn Vander Voort.

St. Stephen's School: Stanley G. Freck, Ralph A. Lasley, Nicholas L. Mills, William W. Pascoe and Robert W. Tienken.

T.C. Williams High School: Kristin Bowser, Constance P. Coontz, Ellen Edelman, Michael D. Goodwin, David R. Helman, Kaia L. Kitagawa, Mike J. Manley, Linda S. Vakas and Michael D. Warden.

Thomas A. Edison High School: Annette M. Boyle, Elizabeth J. Heichler and Gillian J. Raney.

Thomas Jefferson High School: Constantine Hannaher, Frederick S. Pierce and Jonathan F. Piper.

ANNANDALE - Annandale High School: Chris C. Bowser, Donna K. DeCarlo, Barbara A. Elsbernd, Robert L. Gulley, Timothy J. Payne, Ann R. Peldo, Grant D. Reeher, Evelyn S. Richardson, David G. Tell and Gordon T. Whitten.

ARLINGTON - Bishop O'Connell High School: Raymond L. Powell, Philip A. Rickey, John V. Snyder and James F. Ward.

Wakefield High School: Bryan B. Brittain, Daniel A. Hammerman, Marina M. Heiss, Clark E. Lindgren, Nancy M. Lyons and Patricia A. Roberts.

Washington Lee High School: Henry T. Ching, John H. Heimann, Elizabeth C. Henderson, Michael A. Olson and David H. Skolnick.

Woodlawn Program: Laurie L. RobertsoN.

Yorktown High School: Mark J. Clayton, John M. Dent, Unyong Kim, Karen L. Mundy, William F. Poli, Amy Farr Robertson, Richard G. Stringfellow, Elizabeth A. Sufit, Brent B. Welch and Stephen D. Wilson.

BURKE - Lake Braddock Secondary School: Alisa A. Burns, Bartley R. Danielsen, Sheila M. Flynn, Bradford A. Kauffman and Laura E. Moody.

CHANTILLY - Chantilly Secondary School: Clayton L. Cromley, Mark W. Hertzog and Thomas J. Maples.

FAIRFAX COUNTY - Fairfax Christian School: Jeremy P. Goodwin and Joseph J. McConnell.

Fairfax High School: David L. Forester, Scott K. Forrey, Paul S. Mackey, Felicity F. Mersereau, George A. Prochnik and Anthony P. Reynolds.

Flint Hill Preparatory School: Alice Marie L. Jamison.

J.W. Robinson Secondary School: Andrew M. Brockie, Ann Marie Clark, Mark D. Filiatreau, Elizabeth H. McCormack, Timothy L. Newell and Teresa A. Nunenkamp.

W.T. Woodson High School - Lawrence A. Arnold, Randall L. Dougherty, Daniel E. Dunn, William J. Gorman, Laura R. Nelson, Catherine A. Pasternak, Liane G. Rozzell, Eric G. Stern and Anthony H. Stirk.

FALLS CHURCH - Falls Church High School: Susan M. Bloom and James B. McOmber.

George G. Marshall High School: Becky Cuthbertson, John M. Jennings, Douglas J. McMahon and Lani R. Newcomb.

George Mason Senior High School: Alison DeLong and James V. Grant.

J.E.B. Stuart High School: Sara B. Blair, Helen E. Casey, Steven C. Humphreys, Joseph D. Koltisko and Michael J. Ruth.

GREENWAY - Madeira School: Charlotte C. Worsley.

HERNDON - Herndon High School: David A. Benice, Judy A. Chiang, Mikel Evins, Bruce A. Florman and Joseph A. Wiencko.

MC LEAN - Langley High School: Jane Appling, James M. Ditmore, John L. Garrahan, Thomas Keith Glennan, Leslie A. Hall, Sara E. Halsey, Karen C. Lee-Thorp, Janet L. Leete, Charles MacVeagh, Jeffrey Pryce, Kristin M. Teunis, Nina A. Weinberg and Jeff A. Weisel.

McLean High School: Bonnie J. Alvarez, Elizabeth F. Bloomquest, Joseph P. Dougherty, Margaret L. Farnsworth, William C. Fauver, John R. Hayes, Louis E. Hicks, Leslie A. Batzlaff and Ann C. Sutherland.

SPRINGFIELD - Robert E. Lee High School: Lorrie A. Bradley, Anthony E. Lupien, Clyde S. Smithson and Caroline E. Wilson.

West Springfield High School: Gregory P. Brummett, Patrick T. Croskery, Anthony S. Freathy and John R. Weidman.

VIENNA - James Madison High School: Marilyn E. Blank, Randy W. Fauver, Robert D. Johnson, Laurel A. Kuehnel, James A. Manderson, Mary Beth Moss, Sandra G. Siemens and Kathryn A. Tuten.

Oakton High School: Michael O. Kierzewski, Carol L. May, Diane K. Miquelon, Lisa L. Poppleton and Frederick C. Stinard.

WOODBRIDGE - Garfield Senior High School: Darren L. Depoy and Peter M. Haymond. Woodbridge Senior High School: Alison K. Burke.