All federal, state and local government offices in Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia will be closed Monday in observance of George Washington's birthday.

Schools will be closed in the District, as will those in Prince George's and Montgomery counties in Maryland and Fairfax and Arlington counties in Virginia. Alexandria and Fairfax City schools also will be closed.

A spokesman for Metro said buses would operate on a "beefed-up" Saturday schedule with extra buses running to downtown shopping areas. The Metro subway will be closed.

In the District, only essential services, such as police and fire, will be availiable. Trash will not be collected Monday. Monday's scheduled collection will be Tuesday, and Tuesday's on Wednesday.

Weekday traffic restrictions in "the District, including one-way street rush-hour rules, restricted parking areas and parking meter payments, will not apply. Some District liquor stores will be open.

No trash will be collected in Prince George's County, but Monday collections will be made the following day. The county library, the park and planning commission, Prince George's Community College and county District and Circuit Courts will be closed. Some liquor stores will be open.

Although liquor stores, the library and state offices will be closed in Montgomery County, trash will be collected as usual. Silver Spring and Gaithersburg bus service will operate as usual.

Trash will be collected as usual in all nearby jurisdictions. All Virginia state liquor stores wil be closed Monday.