Five Northern Virginia students have been named winners of corporate-sponsored, four-year Merit Scholarships by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Patricia A. Roberts, 2475 S. Culpeper St., Arlington, of Wakefield High School, is the winner of a National Association of Women in Construction Merit Scholarship. Ann M. Clark, 4901 Wycliff La., Fairfax, of Robinson Secondary School, is the winner of a State Farm Companies Foundation Merit Scholarship.

Three students won a Thomas J. Watson Memorial Merit Scholarship of the Internation Business Machines Corp. They are: Mark W. Hertzog, 12821 Mount Royal La., Fairfax, of Chantilly Secondary School; Joseph A Wiencko Jr., 2705 Viking Dr., Herndon, of Herndon High School, and Gregory P. Brummett, 6801 Brisbane St., Springfield, of West Springfield High School.

The corporate-sponsored scholarships are specified for Merit program finalists who meet preferential criteria established by the sponsors. Sponsors include 290 corporations, foundations, professional associations, unions and trusts.

The largest number of scholarships are designated for finalists who are children of company employes or residents of areas or communities where the organization providing support has plants or operations. A few of the scholarships are specified for finalists planning to pursue careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.

Each of the scholarships is worth $1,000 to $6,000 or more for undergraduate years. The annual stipend is determined on an individual basis, generally within the range of $250 to $1,500 a year. The amount each winner receives is related to the costs of attending the college chosen as well as the amount the student's family is able to pay.

Later this month, the names of winners of National Merit $1,000 scholarships are to be announced. In May, the names of students being offered college-sponsored, four-year Merit Scholarships will be released.