Winners of the 1978 National Merit $1,000 Scholarships were announced today. The winners include students from every state, the District of Columbia, U.S. commonwealths and territories, schools abroad that enroll U.S. citizens and other U.S. operated high schools.

The 1,000 winners will each receive a scholarship of $1,000. Funds for the program came from grands to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation from foundation, professional associations, business corporations and industrial organizations.

The winners in Maryland are:

Christine M. Butler, 6021 Cheshire Dr., Bethesda, Academy of Holy Cross. Butler is a co-editor of the literary magazine and contributes to the school newspaper.

Gregory H. Foster, 6117 Greentree Rd., Bethesda, Walter Johnson High SchooL. Foster is the "It's Academic" team captain and the math team captain. He has won a Mathematics Association of American Award in 1977 and 1978 and the Rennselaer Medal for Math and Science.

David C. Johnson, 8405 Peck Pl., Bethesda, Walt Whitman High School. Johnson is on the Math Team and in the French and Spanish Honor Societies.

Daniel W. Smith, 7045 Wilson La., Bethesda, Walt Whitman High School. Smith is the editor of the school paper and won a first place cartoon award from the Maryland Scholastic Press Association. He placed second in the national "Toward Our Third Century" essay contest, was on the Mathematics Association of America Honor Roll in 1977 and 1978 and has won a National Council of Teachers of English award.

Charlotte C. Worsley, 8705 Shepherd St., Chevy Chase, Madeira School, Greenway, Va. Worsley is president of the Model United Nations Club, co-captain of the field hockey team and has won a Mathematical Association of America award.

Cheryl A. Gira, 10450 Green Mountain Cir., Columbia, Wilde Lake High School. Gira is the "It's Academic" team captain, PTA secretary, a Presidential Scholar finalist and the Service Club president.

David I. Stebenne, 5682 Stevens Forest Rd., Columbia, Oakland Mills High School. Stebenne is the Student Government Association president, "It's Academic" team captain, is on the Class of 1978 executive committee, and is a U.S. Senate Youth Program delegate.

Mary E. Spencer, Box 206, Gaithersburg, Seneca Valley High School. Spencer is the concertmaster for the Montgomery County Youth Symphony, first violinist in the All-State Orchestra, concertmaster for the Seneca Valley High School Orchestra and is in the National Honor Society. She was also nominated to be a Presidential Scholar and was a finalist in the Memco Scholarship Competition.

Richard G. Marlow, 7500 Greenwood Dr., Highland, Atholton High School. Marlow is the "It's Academic" team captain, the newspaper editor, a representative to the Board of Education and in the National Honor Society.

Mary P. May, 4412 Saul Rd., Kensington, Stone Ridge Sacred Heart. May, the "It's Academic" team captain, has won a Dawson Biology Award and is in the National Honor Society.

Glen R. Taylor, 6908 Buchanan St., Landover Hills, Queen Anne School. Tylor was in the honor group in the Westinghouse Science Talent Search, has won science fair awards and a Mathematical Association of America award. He has also won a math scholarship at Johns Hopkins.

Philip A. McGee, 6905 Fitzpatrick Dr., Laurel Senior High School. McGee, the math team captain, was the third highest scorer in the Prince George's County Math League and has won a Mathematical Association of America award as well as school awards for outstanding achievement in calculas, chemistry, English and physics.

David S. Wilson, 6609 Adrian St., New Carrollton, De Matha Catholic High School for Boys. Wilson, the secretary of the National Honor Society, is the valedictorian, "It's Academic" team captain and has won a Harvard Book Club Award.

Thomas M.B. Kelso, 7790 Fox Ct., Pasadena, Northeast High School. Kelso is the Student Government president, "It's Academic" team captain, president of WNHS radio and is in the National Honor Society.

Julia K. Glass, 6730 Garrett Rd., Rockville, Thomas S. Wooton High School. Glass is a Championship Debater, the valedictorian and a student government committee chairman. She has also won speaking awards and is in the National Honor Society.

William A. Gellert, 550 Oak La., Severna Park, Severna School. Gellert is on the All-County Math Team, the math team and president of the French Club.He is also in the National Honor Society and the Spanish Honor Society.

Linda P. Falcao, 10109 Leder Rd., Silver Spring, Albert Einstein Senior High School. Falcao is the National Honor Society president, a nominee for a Presidential Scholar award and the chairman of the Committee on Cultural, Educational and Civic Affairs.

Andrea B. Kress, 10901 WHeeler Dr., Silver Spring, Springbrook Senior High School. Kress is president of the Math Honor Society and captain of the math team. She is in the National Honor Society and has won a George Washington University Engineering Medal, Concours National de Francais award and was a winner in the Johns Hopkins University Math Talent Search.

Maury A. Peiperl, 1135 Loxford Terrace, Silver Spring, Northwood High School. Peiperl, a Presidential Scholar finalist and the "It's Academic" team captain, has won a National Schoalstic Writing Award, a Harvard Book Award, a Lions' Club Award and a Math Book Award.

Robert J. Waldmann, 3910 Rickover Rd., Silver Spring, Georgetown Day High School, Washington D.C. Waldmann, the math team captain and a school newspaper reporter, has won an American Cancer Society Fellowship, two Mathematical Association of America awards and is on the Westinghouse Science Search Honors List.

Emilie M. Amt, 7111 Sycamore Ave., Takoma Park, Montgomery Blair High School. Amt, the school newspaper features editor, has won writing awards, is the French Honor Society president and is in the National Honor Society.