Winners of the 1978 National Merit $1,000 Scholarships were announced today.

The winners are from all U.S. states and territories, including the District of Columbia and schools abroad that enroll U.S. citizens.

The 1,000 winners each will receive a $1,000 scholarship. The funds come from grants to National Merit Scholarship Corporation from foundations, professional associations, business corporations and industrial organizations.

Northern Virginia winners are:

Elizabeth Albritton, Seminary P.O., Alexandria, Saint Pauls School, Concord, N.H. Albritton, the chorus co-president, has won Dickey prizes in Greek and music and was nominated for a Ferguson Scholarship.

Elizabeth L. Ellis, 4111 Orleans Pl., Alexandria, St. Agnes School for Girls. Ellis, the yearbook editor and a Presidential Scholar candidate, is a member of the Cum Laude Society. She is the "It's Academic" team captain, has won a Mathematical Association of American Award and placed second in the National French Contest.

Elizabeth Wiegard, 3605 Lakota Rd., Alexandria, Fort Hunt High School. Wiegard, literary editor of the school magazine, is a flutist in the Symphonic Band, the Marching Band and the All-State Band and Orchestra and a member of the National Honor Society and the French Honor Society.

Marina M. Heiss, 1215 S. 23rd St., Arlington, Wakefield High School. Heiss, the National Honor Society Membership Committee chairman, is secretary and vice president of the German Honor Society and treasurer of the Science Honor Society. She also is the Math Honor Society.

Alison DeLong, 213 W. Columbia St., Falls Church, George Mason Junior-Senior High, DeLong, the "It's Academic" team captain and president of the German Club and Honor Society, has won a [WORD ILLEGIBLE] Award and placed second in the Northern Virginia Music Teachers Association Piano Compotition.

James V. Grant, 211 W. Columbia St., Falls Church, George Mason Junior-Senior High. Grant, student government president, is a math team co-captain and a U.S.A. Mathematical Olympiad. He placed first in the State Spelling Contest and has won three Mathematical Association of America awards.

Joseph D. Koltiske, 3138 Creswell Dr., Falls Church, J.E.B. Stuart High School. Koltisko, a student government representative, is tutoring chairman of the National Honor Society.

Michael J. Ruth, 6204 Colmac Dr., Falls Church, J.E.B. Stuart High School. Ruth, a finalist in the Presidential Scholars Program, is a member of the Student Advisory Council and secretary of the Key Club.

Laura M. Farnsworth, 7114 Xavier Ct., McLean, McLean High School. Farnsworth, a Presidential Scholarship candidate and editor of the school literary magazine, is a member of the National Honor Society, the All-State Orchestra and the Regional Orchestra.

Peter T. Rogers, 7109 Thrasher Rd., McLean, Warren Central High, Vicksburg, Miss. Rogers valedictorian, is a member of Mu Alpha Theta. He is National Honor Society president and has won academic awards in biology, algebra, French, debate and American history.

Ann R. Peldo, 5644 Ravenel La., Springfield, Annandale High School. Peldo is a member of the National Senior Honor Society, the French Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta. She is on the math team and the English team.