District of Columbia voters from five recognized parties will go to the polls Tuesday to nominate candidates for eight city offices, including mayor, and delegate to Congress.

Only voters from the Democratic, Republican, D.C. Statehood, Socialist Workers and U.S. Labor parties will be allowed to participate in the closed party primaries, in which party nominees will be selected for the general election Nov. 7.

In addition to mayor and congressional delegate, nominees will be chosen for City Council chairman, council member at-large and council members from wards 1, 3, 5 and 6. Registered party members may vote for only one party candidate in each of those races.

Even though two of the four at-large seats on the council are up this year, only one nominee from each party can enter the general election to compete against certified independent candidates and those from other parties.

In the balloting Tuesday, write-in votes will be permitted for all offices, and even in those cases where only one candidate is listed, the candidate must receive a majority of votes cast in order to win. Unopposed candidates do not advance to the general election automatically.

Democratic voters also will select four persons to attend the party's mid-term conference scheduled for Dec. 7-10 in Memphis. Each Democratic voter can vote for one man and one woman as delegates. Two men and two women - one each from each of two hypothetical "districts" in the city - will be chosen.

Polling places in the 137 precincts will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. Each voter should have a voter registration card to verify eligibility. However, those without the card will be allowed to vote if they are registered.

The District of Columbia does not permit registration at the polling on the date of the election. Only those persons properly registered as of Aug. 13 will be allowed to cast ballots Tuesday.

Only one polling place has been changed since the last municipal election on Nov. 8, 1977. Voters in precinct 123, who previously voted at the old Congress Heights Elementary School, will now vote at the new Congress Heights Elementary School, 6th and Alabama SE. Voters in precinct 24, who in the past years have voted at the Morgan Elementary School, should note that precinct 24 now votes at the Marie Reed Learning Center, 2200 Champlain St. NW.

Absentee voters can cast their ballots two ways. Those who have already obtained absentee ballots - the deadline to do so was Tuesday - must mail them in, postmarked no later than Sept. 12, the date of the primary.

Absentee ballots also can be cast by voting in person at the Board of Elections office in room 7 of the District Building, 14th and E streets NW, through 5 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 9.

City residents seeking further iinformation about voting may call the D.C Board of Elections and Ethics, 347-9725, or the League of Women Voters, 785-2616.