The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of 15,000 semifinalists of the 24th annual merit program. The semifinalists were named from more than 1 million students enrolled in 18,000 high schools in the nation who took the 1977 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The students, who were the highestscoring pupils in each state, willhave ann opportunity to continue in the competition for 4,100 merit scholarships to be awarded in spring 1979. To be considered for the merit scholarships, the competitors must meet further requirements including endorsement for scholarships by their secondary school principals and presentation of school records that confirm high academic standing.

All semifinalists who reach finalist status will compete on a state-by-state basis for at least 1,000 National Merit $1,000 scholarships. The semifinalists from the District are:

Capitol Page School - Andrew W. Stumpff.

Field School - Raleigh H. Levine.

Georgetown Day School - Joanna Sobol and David S. Taylor.

Gonzaga College High School - Sean T. Enright, Michael R. Mazzoli, Arthur G. Medlar and John J. Rice.

Heights School - Donald P. Haspel, Guy N. Molinari and Christopher H. Schmid.

National Cathedral School - Alexandra S. Beatty, Edith M. Copenhaver, Christy V. Keeny, Joy C. Steele, Jennifer R. Weeks and Wendy A. Weiger.

Sidwell Friends School - Charles Gregory Lief, Geoffrey A. Pigman, Sally L. Rubin, Becky J. Segall, Louise E. Sivak, Nathan S. Szanton and Margaret A. Willens.

St. Alban's School - Andrew G. Atkeson, Michael A. Baenen, Henry P. Dove, Peter O. Harris, Brad MacKenzie, Steven A. Meyers, James W. Spaulding, H. Tayloe Standsbury and Charles H. Wilson.

St. Anselm's Abbey School - David A. Haaga, C. Emmet Lucey and Peter L. Whitesell.

Washington International School - Jennifer Marshall.

Woodrow Wilson Senior High School - Geoffrey V. Waterhouse.