The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of 15,000 semifinalists of the 24th annual merit program. The semifinalists were named from more than 1 million students enrolled in 18,000 high schools in the nation who took the 1977 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The students, who were the highest-scoring pupils in each state, will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 4,100 merit scholarships to be awarded in spring 1979. To be considered for the merit scholarships, the competitors must meet further requirements including endorsement for scholarships by their secondary school principals and presentation of school records that confirm high academic standing.

All semifinalists who reach finalist status will compete on a state-by-state basis for at least 1,000 National Merit $1,000 scholarships. The semifinalists from Northern Virginia are:

Alexandria - Ascension Academy: Patrick J. Bacaj; Thomas A. Edison High School: Mark K. Lewis; Episcopal High School; Dabney J. Carr; Fort Hunt High School: Shelby J. Adams, Susan I. Evans, Elizabeth E. Kiss, Carol Kulish, Andrew D. McClintock, Patricia L. Miley, Gregory F. Taylor and Mark J. Weathers; Groveton High School: Richard J. Ball, Michael George, Claire J. Morduch and Paul D. Risley; Bishop Ireton High School: John N. Sharood; Thomas Jefferson High School: Kenneth K. Bieber, Kevin R. Braun, Lynda D. Edgington, Jennifer A. Lynch and Lisa C. Stephens: Mount Vernon High School: Carolyn Bagwill, Thomas S. Buckley, John C. condray, Patrick M. Condray, Brian R. Kruse, David A. Taylor and Mark S. Tenney; St. Agnes School for Girls: Judith H. Newman, St. Mary's Academy: Elizabeth deV Monzon; St. Stephen's School: James T. Hamilton, James R. Uehlinger and Mehmet F. Uzer; T. C. Williams High School: John R. Boo, Kathryn M. Hoffman, Brigham M. Johnson, Frederica D. Manolatos and Katherine T. Ottaway.

Annandale - Annandale High School: Leo E. Daub, Pamela H. DeCarlo, Lynn A. Dougherty, Kathryn A. Grant, Leslie C. Hayes, Peter H. Manno, Suzzane L. Morgan and Joseph W. Warren.

Arlington - Bishop O'Connell High School: Mark D. Falls, Margaret M. Hayden, Mary E. Manning, Thomas A. Martin, Melanie R. Vickar and Mary E. Pipan; Wakefield High School: John E. Bredehoft and William L. Lang; Washington Lee High School: Patricia D. Acha, James P. Briggs, Charles R. Corry, William A. Quanrud, Nicole E. Ruffine, Glenn I. Ruffner and Gregory D. Welker; Woodlawn Program: Stuart W. Elliott and Margaret S. Young; Yorktown High School: Suzanne A. Hediger, James E. McGavin, David K. Mellinger, James S. Rixse, M David Tanzer and James G. Walker.

Ashburn - Broad Run High School: Norman E. Skrivseth.

Burke - Lake Braddock Secondary School: Jock R. Black, Matthew W. Bressler, William W. Brey, Suzanne Holroyd, Mark D. Lubkeman, Douglas W. Oliver, Wayne A. Patten, Michael E. Schein, Mark A. Schleusener, Jennifer J. Spevacek, Diane Q. Webb and Richard A. Webb.

Chantilly - Chantilly Secondary School: Timothy E. Boothby and Russell A. Johnson.

Fairfax - Fairfax High School: Gary R. Halstead, Jean A. Snyder and Eric M. Vessey; J. W. Robinson Secondary School: Scott D. Anderson, Maria T. Britto, Stephen C. Connor, Chris R. Marble and Mark O. Mason; W. T. Woodson High School: James D. Allen, Eric J. Berghold, Jeffrey D. Carter, Anita L. Colvard, Jacqueline A. Drury, John M. Holford, Dorothy K. Holmes, Curtis B. Lending, Michael G. Miller, Jennifer E. Pessagno. Christian E. Rademacher, Bradford E. Rigby, Karl A. Schoene and Susan C. Seaborg.

Falls Church - Falls Church High School: Carol H. Bryan, John F. Elder, Michael B. Ferguson, David S. Frenkel, Susan J. Hanna, Bruce E. Pommer and Warren T. Randall; George G. Marshall High School: John D. Watson; J.E.B. Stuart High School: Susan R. Moffat.

Fredericksburg - James Monroe High School: Timothy D. Rowe.

Greenway - Madeira School: Caroline A. Dibona, Tracey L. Regan, Elizabeth S. Schmeltzer and Marianne Wilson.

Herndon - Herndon High School: Peter Blagrove, John F. Ficke, Cheryl L. Hoffman, Mary Grace McGeehan, Mollie S. Norwitch, Tammy L. Olsen, Douglas M. Olson, Mary Ann Shore and Karyn Z. Sproles.

Lessburg - Loudoun County High School: Frederick M. Hocker.

Manassas - Jackson Senior High School: Robert M. Dolezal and Kenneth A. McVearry.

Manassas Park - Manassas Park High School: Maureen B. Haigh.

McLean - Langley High School: John C. Baez, Jane R. Baun, Jack Albert G.W. Biddle, Eric Boysen, Eileen S. Coogan, Adam F. Galambos, Anne S. Glick, Patricia A. Goolsby, Joel S. Kenny, Amy A. Levine, Christopher Maio, Timothy S. Menter, John R. Snead and David R. Ungar; McLean High School: Frederic Daus, Bruce Hagood, Robert H. Oostmeyer, Jon Snow and Dana L. Stalcup.

Springfield - Robert E. Lee High School: Gary M. Bernstein, James T. Dolan, Joe HOffman, Margaret R. Kositch, Lisa M. Love, Andrew Russo and Chapin E. Wilson; West Springfield High School: Bryan E. Blackwell, Paul G. Gill, Roger M. Hand, Lori D. Kimminau, Richard P. Kruegler, Hans C. Tallis, Bruce C. Waskowicz and William F. Wiltsie.

Sterling - Park View High School: Robert G. Stockton, Kristian K. Nelson.

Vienna - James Madison High School: Mark B. Cohen, Anthony J. deLeon, Julie M. Kemper, Jean M. Maxey, Timothy A. McDaniel, William F. Moroney, Russell F. Paul, Daniel T. Sherwood, Alison C. Tanner, James M. Thomas, Heather C. Thompson and Andrew M. Vest; Oakton High School: Kenton M. Clayton, Catherine M. Evans, Mark L. Gorenflo, Karen L. Matthews and Walter Thomas Pollard.

Warrenton - Fauquier High School: Sharon L. Grove.

Winchester - Handley High School: Alan T. Johns.

Woodbridge - Gar-Field High School: David F. Chichka, CLarke M. Gillespie, Brian D. Lepard and Michael Mernin: Woodbridge Senior High School: Steven J. Perlot.