Twenty-nine suburban Maryland students are among the 1,500 semi-finalists in the 15th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which administers the program. They were chosen from among more than 60,000 participants.

"Having identified these highly motivated and talented young people, the Achievement Program's effort will be centered upon providing scholarships for as many as possible of the most outstanding among them," said L. C. McMillan, NMSC vice president.

The Semifinalists are:

Beltsville - Sean E. Malachi, High Point Senior High School; Bethesda - Karen E. Exell and Toni K. Young, Bethesda Chevy Chase High School; Ralph E. Greene, Landon School for Boys; Rosalyn E. Jones, Stone Ridge C.D.S.-Sacred Heart; Bowie - Eugenia T.A. Jacobs, Bowie Senior High School; Burtonsville - William C. Taylor, Paint Branch High School.

Also, Columbia - Alton J. Fleming and Sheryl D. Lewis, Oakland Mills High School; Dawn J. Wright, Wilde Lake High School; Greenbelt - Agnes E. Brown, Eleanor Roosevelt Senior High School; Hyattsville - Sandra L. Beauvoir, Regina High School; Lanham - David E. Mills, Duval Senior High School; Oxon Hill - Criag A. Nands, Oxon Hill Senior High School, and Alden W. Jackson, Potomac High School.

Also, Potomac - Charles L. Curry, Bullis School, and Jacqueline A. Berrien, School of the Holy Child; Randallstown - Robert E. Lewis, Randallstown High School; Rockville - Gregory L. Brown and Janet C. Rutledge, Col. Z. Magruder High School, and Sharon L. Gray, Rockville High School; Seat Pleasant - Johnie J. Deloach, Central Senior High School; Silver SPring - Dean M. Robinson, Montgomery Blair High School; Kenneth C. Jackson, Kimberly T. Joseph and JEan E. Randall, John F. Kennedy Senior High School, and LEah A. Robinson, Springbrook Senior High School; Takoma Park - James D. Smith, Takoma Academy, and Upper Marlboro - Jacqueline N. Gilyard, Largo Senior High School.