Mail-in voter registration for the special election May 1 is now under way, according to the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics.

The special election is being held to fill two City Council seats and one school board seat.

The two council posts are an at-large seat, which became vacant when Marion Barion was elected mayor, and the Ward 4 council seat, which became vacant when Arrington Dixon was elected council chairman.

On the school board, voters will fill at-large seat vacated by Betty Kane after her election to the City Council.

Mail-in, postage-paid registration forms are available at all D.C. public libraries, police stations, fire houses and post offices. They must be postmarked no later than March 31. Voters also may register in person from 8:15 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. today and Friday and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday in Room 7 at the District Building.

People who voted in the November election or other recent elections do not have to re-register for the special election. Persons who have not voted in at least four years or who have changed their names should re-register.

New residents or those who have reached age 18 and have not registered should do so, and those who have moved since they last voted should submit a change of address by March 31.

For more information, call 347-9725.