Supporting the right of city employes to strike, former D. C. City Council member Douglas E. Moore and retired management analyst Dorothy M. Maultsby won endorsements yesterday for the May 1 election from the Greater Washington Central Labor Council.

Moore is running against 10 others to fill the at-large council vacancy created by the election of Marion Barry as mayor. Maultsby and 16 others are competing to replace Arrington Dixon as council member from Ward Four. Dixon is now council chairman.

Joslyn Williams, director of the council's committee on political education, said yesterday that during interviews with the committee, the political arm of the 200,000-member labor council, both Moore and Maultsby voiced support for strikes by public employes.

Williams said Moore had described as "heroic" last month's 23-day strike by the Washington Teachers' Union, a member union of the labor council. Williams also said Maultsby pledged to provide increased accountability in city spending.

The Central Labor Council is the area's largest umbrella organization of labor groups. It endorsed Moore's unsuccessful candidacy for council chairman last year as well as the unsuccessful re-election campaign of former mayor Walter E. Washington.

Williams said that in addition to money-unions were a major source of financial support for Washington - the labor groups would operate a separate campaign on behalf of Moore and Maultsby within the city's labor community.

Williams said an endorsement for the other position on the May 1 ballot - at-large member of the school board - may be made later.

Other candidates in the race for City Council at large are Stuart Rosenblatt, Hector Rodriguez, John Ray, Warren A. Hemphill, David G. Harris, Frances Goldman, Lin Covington, Jackson R. Champion, Christopher H. Brown and Richard Blanks Sr.

The other candidates in the Ward 4 race are Victoria T. Street, Nathaniel (Nate) Sims, Gregory Rowe, William Revely, Felix Redmond, Mary Prahinski, Norman C. Neverson, Goldie C. Johnson, Charlene Drew Jarvis, Malcolm W. Diggs, Barry K. Campbell, Andrew Coleman, Richard R. Clark, Robert Lee Brown and Ernest Bowman.