Surprise filings by candidates for the Virginia House of Delegates yesterday set up June 12 primary elections to choose party nominees in every Northern Virginia jurisdiction except Prince William County.

Unexpected Democratic primary contests developed in Arlington and Alexandria when four candidates filed for three House seats in Arlington and four filed for two seats in Alexandria.

Those seeking the Arlington seats are incumbent Dels. Mary A. Marshall, Warren G. Stambaugh and James F. Almand and political newcomer Steven C. Green, who is resigning his job as an economist for the U.S. Bureau of Mines. Federal employes are ineligible for General Assembly seats.

Democratic House candidates in Alexandria are Bernard S. Cohen, a lawyer and unsuccessful candidate for delegate in 1973; Joseph M. Guiffre, a beer distributor; Nancy Bennett, former member of the city Democratic committee; and James Gibbs, a George Mason University law student who held key positions in campaigns of former Lt. Gov. Henry E. Howell and coordinated President Carter's 1976 nominating drive in Virginia.

Alexandria sheriff Michael Norris was the only Republican who filed for a House seat in the City, leaving it to the city committee to name a second candidate by June 12.

Alexandria's Republican State Sen. Wiley F. Mitchell Jr. filed for re-election. He will have no Democratic opponent unless the city Democratic committee chooses a candidate by the June 12 deadline.

Arlington Republicans are scheduled to hold a June 7 convention to choose Assembly candidates.

Del. Elise B. Heinz, the Democratic incumbent in the House representing Arlington and Alexandria, remained unopposed in her party as the 5 p.m. filing deadling passed yesterday.

Both parties will hold primaries to choose candidates in two, five-member House districts in Fairfax County.

Nine Republicans filed in the 19th House district in the county's eastern half, setting up another battle between moderate and conservative wings of the party.

The GOP candidates in the 19th are incumbent Dels, Warren E. Barry, Robert L. Thoburn and Robert E. Harris; former Del. James M. Dillard; Belden Bell; John W. Adams Jr., an unsuccessful House candidate in 1977; Roger C. Grooms, who was active in the 197, campaign of U.S. Sen. John W. Warner; Lawrence D. Pratt, an unsuccessful House candidate in 1977; and M. Lee Mennis, active in campaigns of former Republican Del. James Tate.

The eight Democratic candidates in the 19th are incumbent Del. Gladys Keating, Jane King, a campaigner for Rep. Herbert E. Harris II (D); Beverly Schwarz, an urban planner; David Temple, a county school administrator and the only black candidate who filed yesterday; Charles Kaufman, past president of the county's Young Democrats; Joseph Marino, a member of the county Democratic committee; Lester Fettig, who recently resigned as contract policy chief in the Office of Management and Budget; and William Randalls, a delegate to the 1978 state Democratic convention.

In the 18th House district of western Fairfax, the six Republican candidates are incumbent Dels. Vincent F. Callahan Jr. and Martin H. Perper; lawyer John H. Rust; John S. Buckley, former national president of the Young Americans for Freedom; and Peter W. Scott and Helga Bonney, both unsuccessful candidates for the House in 1977.

The seven Democratic candidates in the 18th are incumbent Dels. Dorothy S. McDiarmid and Kenneth R. Plum; unsuccessful 1977 candidates Gary Eklund and Barbara Weiss; Dean Brundage, a former unsuccessful candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives; and political newcomers Wayne Lynch and Michael Morris.

Four Republicans and two Democrats are seeking the 35th district senate seat in Fairfax being vacated by the retirement of Sen. Omer L. Hirst.

The Democrats are Dels. Richard L. Saslaw and Jean Packard former chairman of the county board of Supervisors. The Republicans are former Del. Tate; Robert Murrin, Hirst's opponent in 1975; and political newcomers William Whalen and Richard Calbert.

In the 34th senate district, GOP candidates Cynthia Newman, former secretary of the Commonwealth, and John Thoburn, son of Del. Thoburn, filed for the chance to oppose Democratic senate majority leader Adelard L. Brault.

The only other senate primary set up by yesterday's filings wiull be in the 33rd district of western Fairfax and Loudoun County. Incumbent Sen. Charles L. Waddell is opposed by Del. Raymond E. Vickery Jr.

Both parties in Prince William will choose Assembly candidates in conventions.