The following students who attend schools in the District are among the 1,500 semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students.

More than 60,000 black students entered the Achievement Program by taking the 1978 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and requesting consideration in the 1980 Achievement Scholarship competition.

To advance in the competition, the semifinalists must meet additional requirements. About 1,200 semifinalists are expected to become Achievement Program Finalists and be considered for awards in 1980.

The Achievement Scholarship Program semifinalists are: Keith Landfair, Eastern High School; Kamal B. Ali, Georgetown Day School; Janine M. Austin, Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School; Benjamin A. Drew and Roderick E. Duhaney, Gonzaga College High School; Scott V.E Whitehurst. Heights School; Debra A. Henry, Immaculata Preparatory School; Pamela M. Hamilton, Immaculate Conception Academy.

Also, Jeffrey R. Bell, McKinley High School; Teresa K. Allen

Theodore Roosevelt High School; Elizabeth Alexander, Jeanette H. Doddy, John A Elder, Roselyn E. epps, Anne P. Haley, Brooke A. Jackson, Preston D. Pinkett and Michael D. Williams, Sidwell Friends School; Mark M. Lewis, Lynwood Randolph, Oliver A. Smith and William J. Strudwick, ST. Alban's School; Arthur L. Burnett and Robert A. Watts, St. Anselms's Abbey School; Natalie E. Fuller and Brian A. Sutherland, St. Anthony's High School; Frederie M. Biddle, St. John's College High School; Johathan F. Douglas and Suzanne Sublett, Woodrow Wilson Senior High School.