In a move apparently designed to forestall parental outrage which has accompained school consolidation attempts throughout the area, Fairfax County school officials last week outlined an intricate procedure that will be followed over the next five months as the possibility of school closings is scrutinized.

"We are not going hell-bent to elections to close Fairfax County schools," said Ned Orleans, assistant superintendent of school planning services, in announcing the 29 elementary schools, to be studied for closing.

School officials emphasized that citizen involvement would be an important part of the plan, with community advisory commitees making recommendations next spring.

"The schools we have named were selected solely on the basis of satistics," Orleans acknowledged. "A lot more than statistics should go into a decision as sensitive as this one."

Orleans said several factors, including operating costs, test scores, enrollment and building design, would be considered in any school closing.

The school board is expected to approve the schools to be studied at its Jan. 10 meeting. Citizen advisory committees then will be appointed.

By early April, the committees are to submit their findings to school officials, who will make recommendations to the new superintendent, Linton Deck. The final decision rests with the school board, after it considers the superintendent's recommendation.

Orleans says public hearings will be scheduled in early May.

The 29 elementary schools were divided into four geographical clusters. The following identifies the schools, principals, enrollment and special programs: Cluster-A-Alexandria Area

Belle View, principal Tommy Thompson, 627 students. Special programs: special education, day care. Bucknell, principal Freda Skirvin, 469 students. Title 1, Head Start, extended day care. Fort Hunt, principal Myrna Smith, 563 students. Hollin Hall, principal William Dudgeon, 235 students. Special education. Hollin Hills, principal Fredricka Phelps, 253 students. Hollin Meadows, principal Ethel Georges, 660 students. Strafford Landing, principal Beverly Peterson, 682 students. Regional Gifted and Talented program. Waynewood, principal Donald Lytal, 351 students. English as a Second Language Center serving 10 schools. Cluster B-Alexandria Area

Cameron, principal David Lunter, 308 students. Title I, Clermont, principal Gioia Caiola Forman, 252 students. Daytime adult education. Mount Eagle, principal William Campbell, 342 students. Title I, Wilton Woods, principal Charles Gray, 323 students. Cluster C-Annandale Area

Annandale Terrace, principal William Tarbox, 423 students. Title I, Braddock, principal Nancy Burleson, 500 students. English as a Second Language. Bren Mar Park, principal Mark Summers, 264 students. Title I, daytime adult education, extended day care. Columbia, principal Kay Steiert, 351 students. Edsall Park, principal Elliott Krash, 244 students. Special education. North Springfield, principal C. Doyle Bright, 611 students. Special education, English as a Second Language. Weyanoke, principal Robert L. Layne, 419 students. Cluster D-Falls Church Area

Beach Tree, principal Courtney G. Pelley, 295 students. Special education classes, cued speech for the hearing impaired. Devonshire, principal Stephen Mahoney, 235 students. Graham Road, principal Dwight L. Smith, 466 students. Title I, English as a Second Language. Masonville, principal Bette Schwarzman, 269 students. Special education, extended day care. Pine Spring, principal Nancy A. Calvert, 347 students. eSpecial education. Shrevewood, principal Harriet Parrot, 607 students. Title I, English as a Second Language. Timber Lane, principal Joe Ross, 307 students. Classes for autistic children, Head Start, Title I, Walnut Hill, principal James E. Dellinger, 266 students. Special education. Westlawn, principal Alice E. Pharr, 415 students. Special education.