Federal, state and municipal government offices in the Washington area will be closed New Year's Day. All Virginia state government offices also will be closed Dec. 31.

Maryland state offices and the government offices of the District of Columbia, Montgomery, Prince George's, Arlington and Fairfax counties, and those in the city of Alexandria will be open Dec. 31.

Post offices also will be open New Year's Eve but closed New Year's Day.

Most area banks will be open Dec. 31 and closed New Year's Day. Metro trains and buses will operate on a regular schedule New Year's Day.

Rush hour traffic restrictions will be in effect in the District of Columbia Dec. 31, including reversible street patterns, bus lanes and rush hour turning, standing and parking prohibitions.

The trash collection schedule will vary in each jurisdiction. Alexandria is the only local jurisdiction that will have normal trash collections New Year's Day. In the District of Columbia and in Arlington County, usual Tuesday collections will be on Wednesday; in Montgomery and Prince George's counties, Tuesday's collection on next regular day; and in Fairfax County, Tuesday's collection will be made Monday, one day early.

Liquor stores in Virginia will be open until 6 p.m. New Year's Eve, while regular hours will be observed in the District of Columbia and Maryland. Most of Montgomery County's county-run liquor stores will observe regular hours.

All area schools are closed until Jan. 2.

The museums of the Smithsonian Institution will be open New Year's Day from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. The National Gallery of Art will be closed.