The National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students has announced that 23 Maryland students are among the 520 black high school seniors who are Achievement Scholarship recipients.

They were chosen from schools in 39 states, the District, U.S. Commonwealths and territories, and from overseas schools that enroll U.S. citizens.

Some of the winners received National Achievement $1,000 scholarships. These are one-time awards allocated by geographic regions to ensure that winners are representative of outstanding black students nationwide. Winners were selected by a committee of educators who evaluated finalists from each region and chose as winners students who appeared to be most promising, based on academic records, extracurricular accomplishments, self descriptions, test scores and school recommendations.

Others received corporate-sponsored, four-year Achievement Scholarships. Winners of these scholarships were chosen from black students who attained finalist standing in the Achievement Program and met preferential criteria specified by the organizationms supporting the awards.

A few students were named honorary winners. Because they have accepted other awards or made plans to study at special purpose institutions not covered by Achievement Scholarships, they will receive no monetary assistance through the Achievement Program.

Students who won $1,000 scholarships are Stephanie M. Barnes, of Baltimore, from Maryvale Preparatory School in Brooklandville; Karyn L. Berry, of Oxon Hill, from Friendly Senior High School; Alan C. Bowser of Silver Spring, from John F. Kennedy High School; John B. Carter, of Baltimore, from Baltimore Polytechnic Institute; Carla J. Chissell, of Baltimore, from Western High School; Andrea F. Hawkins, of Aberdeen, from Aberdeen High School; Jeffre M. Jackson, of Potomac, from Winston Churchill High School; Krishna B. Narine, of Potomac, from Landon School in Bethesda; Lisa A. Smith, of Upper Marlboro, from Frederick Douglass Senior High School in Silver Spring; Michael J. Smith, of Columbia, from Wilde Lake High School; Leslie A. Thomas, of Upper Marlboro, from La Reine High School in Suitland; and Kathleen L. Wilson, of Seat Pleasant, from Largo Senior High School in Upper Marlboro.

Also Frederic M. Biddle, of Forestville, from St. John's High School in D.C.; and Beverly A. Ortega, of Baltimore, from Kaiserlautern American High School in West Germany.

Also Jennifer J. Jeffries, of D.C., from Stone Ridge High School in Bethesda; and Allison E. Scott, of D.C., from La Reine High School in Suitland.

Students who won corporate-sponsored Scholarships are Audrey A. Adams, of Severn, from Meade High School in Fort Meade (Montgomery Ward Foundation); Beverli T. Fontaine, of Gathersburg, from Gaithersburg High School (IBM); Eric R. Middleton, of Baltimore, from Carver Vocational Tech High School in Baltimore (Amoco Foundation); Kenneth W. Parker, of Silver Spring, from Montgomery Blair High School (International Paper Co.); and Miles J. Spicer, of Capital Heights, from Central Senior High School in Seat Pleasant (Shell Companies Foundation).

The Honorary Achievement Scholars are: Krystle L. Adams, of Severn, from Meade High School in Fort Meade; and Robert L. Curbeam Jr., of Baltimore, from Woodlawn Senior High School in Baltimore.