A month-long celebration recognizing the achievements of women in Fairfax County government began Monday when the Board of Supervisors honored 20 workers.

The County Commission for Women solicited nominations from all county agencies and employes for names of women who have made significant contributions to the government and who exemplify the roles women play in government service.

The following women were selected from more than 80 nominations:

Kathryn M. Anderson, assistant county attorney; Theresa Ann Bousquin, chief of administrative services for the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court; Eleanor L. Chesley, secretary in the Circuit Court; Shirley D. Costello, director of the Mount Vernon Mental Health Center; Dorothy M. Deaner, program director of the mobile crisis unit at Woodburn Mental Health Center.

Also, Agnes Donnelly, auditor for the Fairfax public schools; Barbara M. Gerth, an engineer technician in the Public Works Department; Penny Gilliland, chemistry laboratory supervisor at the wastewater treatment division of the Public Works Department; Edith Herman, director of the county Victim Assistance Network, and Peggy Honeycutt, director of county Nursing Services.

Also, Cecile Irons, lieutenant in the Sheriff's Department; Lorraine M. Koval, an engineer with the Public Works Department; Carolyn R. Manchester, senior planner in the Office of Comprehensive Planning; Suzanne C. Manzo, acting director of the Department of Manpower Services; Mary P. Markham, a management analyst in the Office of Research and Statistics.

Also, Alline B. Ramey, supervisor for the Real Estate Assessments Board, Office of Assessments; Janice L. Ryan, computer systems programmer in the Office of Research and Statistics; Iola Scrafford, coordinator of the Crossroads Drug Abuse Control Program; Patricia Silvey, payroll clerk in the Police Department, and Jane L. Stern, information officer for the Office of Public Affairs.