An estimated 8,650 Prince George's County public high school students from 19 schools are graduating in a round of commencement exercises ending this week.

Lisa Smith, the valedictorian at Frederick Douglas High School, "stands out as among the best of the students who are graduating," according to school information specialist Kathy Snyder. Douglass won a $1,400 scholarship to Harvard University, where she will major in pre-law. Because she did so well on an advance placement test, Smith will begin her studies as a sophomore.

In addition, Smith received offers of full scholarships to the University of Michigan and Hampton Institute in Virginia. She also won a National Achievement Scholarship for Outstanding Negro Students.

This year's graduating class of Prince George's County High School students also includes 13 National Merit Scholarship finalists who will receive college scholarships for a minimum of $1,000 each; 12 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists; four winners of National Achievement Scholarships for Outstanding Negro Students who each receive at least $1,000 and three Maryland Distinguished Scholars, who were named by the state Board of Education to receive scholarships ranging from $500 to $2,000.

In addition, 31 students received scholarships to Prince George's Community College; seven received ROTC scholarships and 20 students were appointed to military academies.

Students honored for academic excellence as class valedictorians and salutatorians are:

Northwestern -- Maria Rodreguez, valedictorian, and Stacey Jones, salutatorian; Parkdale -- Kurt Dangle, Ken Delaney, Gloria Kressin, Sean Lindsay, Laurie Powers and Judi Ringle, valedictorians; Eleanor Roosevelt -- Raymond Moy, valedictorian, and Karen Czuba, salutatorian; Suitland -- Kathy McAsee, valedictorian, and salutatorians Rose Mary St. Ledger and Susan Marie Koles.

Other public high schools in Prince George's County do not designate valedictorians and saluatorians, but the following students represent those with the highest academic ranking, according to county school officials:

Bladensburg -- Joanne Bennett; High Point -- David Hall and Lucille Reid; Laurel -- Eric Collins; Bowie -- Jeffrey Kuhn, Ann Lampa, Christine Middaugh, Kay Marie Grant and Carolyn Schultze; Duval -- Bonnie Purdy; Fairmont -- Joyce Conrad; Largo -- Mary King And Sharon Horvath; Central -- Judy Lanehart; Crossland -- William Logan and Karen Warren.

Frederick Douglass -- Lisa Smith and Teresa Talbot; Friendly -- Joan Tartanian; Gwynn Park -- Claudia Oswald; Oxon Hill -- James Neilon; Potomac -- Felicia Pharagood, Linda Greer, William Philpot and Nancy Carl, and Surrattsville -- Holly Hamilton and Glenn Kurowski.

The following Catholic high school students have been named class valedictorians:

Academy of the Holy Cross -- Helene Youstra; Bishop McNamara -- Jon Opalski; DeMatha -- Wolfgang Lohrmann; Good Counsel -- Martin Theodore Schwartz; LaReine -- Colleen Mary O'Neill; Pallotti -- Cathleen Fenton; St. Mary's Academy -- Gail Morgan and Susan Hanley, and Ryken -- Mark Joseph Taylor.