All federal, state and local government offices in the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia, except those offering emergency services, will be closed Friday in observance of the Fourth of July.

Other holiday changes include:

Metro rail will operate from 8 a.m. until midnight, with all rail service free after 9 p.m. to help move crowds from the fireworks display on the Mall. Metrobus will operate on a Saturday schedule. Metro parking lots and metered spaces in all areas will be free. Rush hour traffic restrictions will not be in effect. The Silver Spring Ride-On service will operate on a Sunday schedule and will be free from 9 p.m. until midnight.

Trash collections usually made in the District of Columbia on Thursday will be made today and pickups usually made on Friday will be made on Thursday. There will be no collections in Maryland and Virginia, except for regularly scheduled pickups in Fairfax County.

There will be no mail service Friday.

Government-run liquor stores in Maryland and Virginia will be closed. Privately owned stores in Washington and elsewhere have the option to be open or closed.

Most major retail stores will be closed, as will all banks.