A committee appointed by Rep. Joseph L. Fisher (D-Va.) has announced nominations for appointments to the nation's service academies.

The committee of educators, military veterans and civic leaders based its decisions on personal interviews, applicants' college entrance exam scores, high school grades, class rank, extracurricular activities and school recommendations.

Fisher has submitted the names to officials at each academy who will make the final selections.

The following is a list of Northern Virginia students nominated for appointment:

U.S. Miltary Academy (West Point): Joel T. Butler, Arlington; Robert M. Chapman, Annadale; Virginia A. Condit, Falls Church; Ginette R. Gauldfeldt, Falls Church; Charlene J. Jardin, Arlington; Paul J. McKittrick, Oakton; Jeffrey P. Reihl, Alexandria; Kenneth R. Tarcza, Vienna; James S. Tilton, Vienna; Warren R. Wintrode, Falls Church.

U.S. Naval Academy: James A. Allen, Arlington; Anthony Bruno III, Arlington; Andrew Conley, McLean; Julian Kenneth Dilks, Reston; Brian I. Eder, Arlington; Laurence D. Fahrney, McLean; Christopher J. FitzGerald, Reston; Antonio P. Fontana, Falls Church; Christian P. Hannon, McLean; Alexander M. Huemer, Oakton; Mark A. Johnson, Annandale; Anton G. Kerr, Arlington; Carl F. Miller, Falls Church; Patrick H. Mooney, Alexandria; Marily Nixon, Arlington; Greer G. Olsen, Vienna; Frank G. Steiner, II, Vienna; Christopher J. Weiler, Annandale; Tracy J. Wiggs, Vienna; Gerhard M. Williams III, McLean.

U.S. Air Force Academy: Robert G. Brents Jr., Falls Church; Robert G. D'Antonio, Falls Church; Myrl W. Demory III, Vienna; Ferdinando C. Greco, Fairfax; Patrick H. Mooney, Alexandria; Mark L. Mullaney, Reston; Catherine A. Nakache, McLean; Mark A. Schaeffler, McLean; Elizabeth M. Shogren, Arlington; James D. Tieme, Falls Church.

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy: Eric S. Albright, McLean; David C. Jackson, Vienna; Paul A. McDonald, Sterling; Charles L. Weakley III, McLean.